Lost Out My Window

IMG_0916
Gorgeous. That’s all.

Today has been a rather slow day as my parents left to begin their trek back to my home in Houston. They will be driving today and tomorrow and I cannot help but worry. You know you have made it to adulthood when you are worrying as much about your parents as they worry about you. I decided to open my window today and have been happily surprised at the results. My apartment is on the back side of the apartments so the front actually looks out to the back. The complex has made a runoff ditch into a pretty area to look at outside my window. There is a little gravel pathway and then in the ditch (and around it) grasses and flowers to “pretty it up a bit.” While looking out my window earlier I had a visit from a Cardinal, my mom and grandma’s favorite type of bird. It is also nice weather outside and whenever the wind blows you can hear it in the grasses. Picturesque, I know.

I also tried to adventure out toTybee Island earlier this morning. Now, I was imagining this little-known island with nature and wildlife and instead got a whole lot of people. I did not end up staying to go to the beach as I had expected because I could not find a parking space. Instead I visited an open-air market at the lighthouse, which was fantastic.

Here is the lighthouse on Tybee and the open-air market. When I talked with the concierge at my parent's hotel this morning he told me the lighthouse is at least one of or the tallest lighthouse in the United States. He also said it was the first lighthouse built this far south. I plan on taking a tour of the actual lighthouse in the future but for today the market was where I had my sights set.
Here is the lighthouse on Tybee and the open-air market. When I talked with the concierge at my parent’s hotel this morning he told me the lighthouse is at least one of or the tallest lighthouse in the United States. He also said it was the first lighthouse built this far south. I plan on taking a tour of the actual lighthouse in the future but for today the market was where I had my sights set.

I wish I had money to spend there. There was this painting of the marsh area and it was gorgeous. $400 worth of gorgeous. After visiting the market I drove around the island for a while both looking for a parking space and enjoying all there was to say and then decided to head home. I have lived my whole life, except for the time I have spent in Lubbock for school, 30 minutes from the beach. While I would by no means call myself a “beach bum” it is comforting to me to know the water is so close. Being here in Savannah is no different. I know I will not be able to be at the beach every day, or every week for that matter, but I like knowing the water is right there. My plan is to, one of these days, wake up and get down there around 8 a.m. That way I will get there before most people and be ready to leave when they start arriving.

Driving to the island was half the fun though. On the road to the island there is a sign that reads, “Road may be covered with water during high tide.” For some reason I think that is so cool. You know you are going out to the island if there is a possibility the tides will cover the road out to it. There was also a turtle crossing zone. That is adorable. Unfortunately I did not see any turtles, however that is probably best for them as there was quite a bit of traffic on the road. Thinking of a turtle crossing the road reminded me of reading Grapes of Wrath my junior year of high school. After we finished the book my teacher gave each of us a turtle and a word. Mine was tenacity and I intend to exhibit tenacity with whatever this summer may present. Finally, while driving there was a man on the side of the road with a sign. Driving up to him I assumed it was someone like I would see in Houston or Lubbock asking for money. That sentence sounded condescending. I don’t know how to fix it though. I don’t mean to be condescending. When approaching the man, I could see his sign did not tell his story, but instead simply read “I am proud to be an American.” He was waving as passersby and waving an American flag with the other hand. I wish I had, had a second to stop and talk with him and learn why he was spending his time waving a flag on the way to Tybee Island, but, unfortunately, the traffic would not permit that.

After returning home I unpacked the rest of my stuff, finally, and finished getting situated in my little apartment. I’m really enjoying this apartment and the setup I have going here. I read a blog today from a girl who made 15 goals for the 15 days of spring semester. I thought that was such a great idea, so because I will be here 10 weeks I am going to make 10 goals. Maybe that will ensure I will accomplish them.

1. Go walking at least two times a week.
2. Don’t eat out more than three times each week.
3. Keep up with my blog. πŸ™‚
4. Find a church group in Savannah for the summer and attend regularly.
5. Make A’s in my summer school classes. All of them.
6. Start saving some money.
7. Finish paying stuff.
8. Visit the places on my list of places I want to visit.
9. Learn everything I can possibly learn at my internship.
10. Really listen to what those already working at the paper have to say and teach me.
11. Savor this experience and opportunity to live somewhere new for the summer.
12. Take every opportunity I can with my internship.

I know,Β I can count to 10. Just once I started listing goals I thought of more than I needed so I listed a couple extra.

Leave me comments, follow my blog and follow me on Twitter @KaitlinBain

Leave a Reply

