Wolf Wilderness

Today I had the opportunity to go to the Oatland Island Wildlife Center. First off, let me say that place is fantastic. Not only was it only $5 but there are a lot of animals, most native to the area, all in habitats that don’t feel (at least to me) like they are in cages. They looked pretty happy too. It is also a giant walking trail, instead of all the concrete that is at the zoo. So, it is about a mile and a half long trail with a bunch of different animals on the way.

IMG_2626The wolves definitely stole the show in my opinion though. Any time I have ever been to the zoo I have not seen a wolf and definitely not one moving around up close. They had built a whole area for them though and before you walk in it asks visitors to be as quiet as possible, there is also a viewing room to sit in that is air-conditioned, which is nice, but quiets the squeals from the children who are excited to see the wolves. There were three wolves and they were just trotting around the enclosure while I was there.

IMG_0918
So, I have this weird obsession with alligators. Every time I go to this park by my house I hope to see an alligator, so I was glad to see several up close but with a fence in between. I was surprised to learn that in the wild alligators can live up to 50 years and in captivity up to 80 years. I think that is crazy.
Known for their camouflage, is the red fox. It was pretty cool to see one, but he did not want anything to do with those visiting his enclosure.
Known for their camouflage, is the red fox. It was pretty cool to see one, but he did not want anything to do with those visiting his enclosure. Can you see him?
IMG_0926
Visitors were also given the opportunity to walk along this marsh on a boardwalk. I was hoping to see some wildlife, but I only saw some people getting into a boat ready to take on the water. According to some information posted before the boardwalk, Georgia makes up 1/3 of the total salt marsh area of the eastern seaboard.
I felt it was only fitting that on Memorial Day I visited with the bald eagle. I have seen these birds up close before, but every time I see one I am astounded at how large they are.
I felt it was only fitting that on Memorial Day I visited with the bald eagle. I have seen these birds up close before, but every time I see one I am astounded at how large they are.

I also got a video at the marsh and of the wolves but since I didn’t get a very good picture of the bobcats, here’s a video of them playing. I also added the other two videos from the wildlife center on my Youtube channel, so just click on the link here and follow it to the others if you’d like to see them.

Leave a Reply

