Internship: Week One

Well, Tuesday was the first day at my internship. While I could not do a whole lot my first day as I did not yet have a computer login, it was a good day nonetheless. When I first arrived I went to HR to finish my paperwork to be properly employed by the company. There I met Cheryl Blair, the woman from human resources I had been speaking with since I was offered the internship about all of my paperwork. She greeted me excitedly and with a big hug. I was more nervous than I would like to admit when walking into the building, so that made the whole day start off well. From there I filled out and read all my paperwork and I got a badge! I feel pretty cool now with a press pass with my face on it.

Well, I accidentally deleted my outfit of the day picture for my first day, but here is my first day selfie!
Well, I accidentally deleted my outfit of the day picture for my first day, but here is my first day selfie!

I then went up to the newsroom, met a lot of people, found my desk (yes, my very own desk with my very own computer, phone and extension) and did a little bit of work. From there I observed what others were doing until it was time to go home. I also got to have lunch outside. There is an eating area in the building with a little cafe that you can buy things from but there is also an outside courtyard area. Being able to go outside with my lunch and just enjoy the beautiful Savannah weather was fantastic. On Wednesday I got my email, phone number and log on to the server that is used to save stories. Well that was exciting for me. My very own extension! Whoo! I also had the chance to proof an insert that will be going into the paper. Wow how I missed Hannah, my best friend and The DT copy editor. I stuck to my guns though and applied all the grammar rules I know or thought I knew. Two more people were friendly to me too. It can be hard going to a completely new place but I know from my own experience that new people (or people at all sometimes) can be even harder to get accustomed to. I learned one of my coworkers is from Texas as well, and she even recommended a tex-mex restaurant in town for when I am feeling homesick. That looks like another place to put on my list of things I am going to have to go to alone. It is called Foxy Loxy and apparently the woman spent some time in the Texas Hill Country herself.

I got to personalize my desk, which is awesome for me. I brought the mason jar from tea party to hold my pens and pictures of my mom, dad, boyfriend, big and little. I miss them but having them looking back at me on my desk makes it a little bit better. I also know they're always cheering for me so that's a good reminder.
I got to personalize my desk, which is awesome for me. I brought the mason jar from tea party to hold my pens and pictures of my mom, dad, boyfriend, big and little. I miss them but having them looking back at me on my desk makes it a little bit better. I also know they’re always cheering for me so that’s a good reminder.

Tomorrow I hope to have my first assignment and get to get out there and start writing and interviewing. It’s pretty nerve-wracking for me because I get pretty nervous about messing up, but I know all mistakes come with a lesson and as well as I try my best and listen then everything else will be something to add to my knowledge bank of the field I love so dearly.

Well, Thursday was fantastic. I had my first assignment! I got there and checked in with my supervisor and he gave me a story. A butcher shop in town was having its grand opening after being in a different location for a while. I got to interview one of the co-owners as well as go to the opening and talk to some people there. The shop is SO cute and definitely something that looks like it belongs in a downtown neighborhood as their local grocery store-ish. I also had/got to take my own pictures. After my supervisor gave me the assignment he was like, “Can you take pictures?” Then told me to take my iPhone along with me to snap some shots for the article. Apparently last week one of their front-page stories had an accompanying picture that was shot with a smart phone. That made me think about the Photography for Smartphone seminar I went to at the CMA (college media association) conference I had the opportunity to go to in the fall. Next to everything I went to about FERPA, that was one of the best seminars I went to. I think in the growing world of journalism, while journalists are being expected to be able to do everything, that does not necessarily mean bringing along a full camera and/or equipment, it means being able to set up and manipulate the lighting in such a way you can snap a few photos or video with a phone to accompany the story, a tweet or an Internet posting. Who knows. I wish I had a smart phone photography class last semester instead of a real camera photography class but that is neither here nor there.

This was my outfit of the day for today. I remembered to take a picture. This is easily one of my favorite dresses my mom and I got while shopping before she left. I dressed it up for work with a cardigan and flats but I can't wait to explore river street or the island with my boyfriend in sandals and my black and white sun hat that just happens to match.
This was my outfit of the day for today. I remembered to take a picture. This is easily one of my favorite dresses my mom and I got while shopping before she left. I dressed it up for work with a cardigan and flats but I can’t wait to explore river street or the island with my boyfriend in sandals and my black and white sun hat that just happens to match.

Thursday I also discovered that I am AWFUL at choosing roommates. Apparently one of my roommates does not know how to close or lock the door when she comes in. She slams it and then runs up the stairs making as much noise as humanly possible. Now, my stairs are squeaky to begin with, but really. Now she’s upstairs cooking with her friends and I am pretty sure they are not talking at a normal volume. Sorry, I just needed a second to vent.

Tomorrow is the last day of the week and I’m excited to see what it has for me. I know I will be going over my story with my editor, which for me, is terrifying. I know I will learn a bunch though and hopefully not make those mistakes next time. I mean he read over it while I was there this evening right before he left and I am not fired. So, I mean, that’s a good sign. Right?

So Friday was the last day of the week. Wow, stating the obvious much? Sorry. It was also the best day of this week and at this point that’s not obvious yet ;). So, I am not fired and he said the story only required the basic edits that are done to any story and oh my goodness that’s the best thing ever. Also, one of my pictures will be put with the story so #photographer. Not really but at least I know I can do that. Today I got another story, this one about sugaring. I don’t knowif you know what that is but it’s definitely something I’m going to try. It’s like waxing but instead they use a paste made of sugar, water and lemon juice and it’s way better for you skin and less painful. That story was fun because the woman I got to interview was super bubbly and excited about what she does. I also talked to more people today (yay) and got some helpful critiques from one of the copy editors. Whoo!

While I’ve had a great first week, I’m glad it’s the weekend. This weekend I plan to sleep, relax and do some more city exploring. If you want to see any of my articles that will be publishing this summer follow me on Twitter ( @kaitlinbain ). If you’re from the Savannah area or have visited before leave me some stuff to check out this weekend or while I’m here!

One thought on “Internship: Week One

  1. Hey Katy sounds like you are having a fun adventure. My in laws, the Kesslers, are from a small town near Savannah called Rincon. There is a park with an old church in it called Ebeneazer and it is pretty neat. Tybee Island is fun and Savannah itself is absolutely beautiful. I look forward to reading more about your adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

