Weekend Two in Savannah

The gorgeous Tybee Island lighthouse. This is the same lighthouse I went to the open-air market at. This is just a picture from the water.
The gorgeous Tybee Island lighthouse. This is the same lighthouse I went to the open-air market at. This is just a picture from the water.

What started out as big plans for my Saturday ended up not so big after all. I did get my room cleaned but was then greeted with some pretty big rain clouds. I still booked the dolphin tour but decided to hold off going to the state park for another day. I did not want to get stuck in the rain in a new place on a random trail that online promised the possibility of an alligator. For some reason that sounded like a recipe for disaster. After cleaning up my room a bit and sending some paperwork off to my Tech internship coordinator I went to Captain Derek’s dolphin tours. It was amazing and that might be an understatement.

This is a jellyfish that doesn't sting. It also doesn't have tentacles and kind of just looks like a crystal ball. Our first mate fished him out of the ocean so we could see him.
This is a jellyfish that doesn’t sting. It also doesn’t have tentacles and kind of just looks like a crystal ball. Our first mate fished him out of the ocean so we could see him.

From the moment we got on the boat we got to see dolphins playing in the river next to us. There were kayakers coming in from an island a little ways off and our guide told us the dolphins are playful and she’s seen a few come up under a kayaker and push them along a little bit. I thought that was adorable. Soon we were off and we went through the Savannah river all the way out to the Atlantic Ocean. I got to go boating on the Atlantic Ocean! We saw one of Sandra Bullock’s houses, Fort Pulaski, said lighthouse I was talking about, the Tybee Island lighthouse, South Carolina and LOTS of dolphins. Our guide even picked up a jelly fish, apparently there are non-poisonous species. The captain got the dolphins to what is called “surf” behind the boat. Which really means they were jumping around behind us as we were going fast in the boat. It was awesome.

Fort Pulaski was comissioned by Robert E. Lee after he left West Point and was a Confederate fort during the Civil War. After the Union took the fort it was used as a prison for Confederate soldiers. I plan on going to visit while I'm here!
Fort Pulaski was commissioned by Robert E. Lee after he left West Point and was a Confederate fort during the Civil War. After the Union took the fort it was used as a prison for Confederate soldiers. I plan on going to visit!
This adorable little lighthouse is, according to our first mate, the oldest lighthouse in Georgia. She's only 30 feet tall and stands on an island that's only accessible by  water craft during low tide.
This adorable little lighthouse is, according to our first mate, the oldest lighthouse in Georgia. She’s only 30 feet tall and stands on an island that’s only accessible by water craft during low tide.
Here's a screen shot from the videos I took! Please excuse my finger and enjoy the dolphin.
Here’s a screen shot from the videos I took! Please excuse my finger and enjoy the dolphin.

If you liked this video there are two more on my Youtube channel. Just visit it via Youtube and then click on my name!

IMG_7915

IMG_1053
I thought this bridge was pretty and picturesque.

On Sunday I got to do what I was originally going to do on Saturday after the dolphin tour and go to Skidaway Island State Park. The island is about 20 minutes from my apartment and there are spaces for picnics, camping and wildlife trails. After surveying the different trails they had to offer I decided to go on the Sandpiper Nature Trail. It was only about a mile and a half and I really wanted to go on a longer one, but the others said something about the possibility of animals I did NOT want to encounter by myself (namely real alligators not behind a fence.) So off I went along the trail. It was gorgeous and the sounds of the wildlife were great. The trail map explained a lot of the different aspects of the trail, which was pretty interesting. Apparently if you come on high tide there’s a very thin layer of water over the trail because everything around it gets covered with water. Because of this I intentionally came at low tide and got to see a bunch of little crabs just doing their little crab things before the tide comes up again.

I wanted to stop and take a break on this bench but then I didn't want a snake to fall out of the tree. Yes, I know how crazy that sounds.
I wanted to stop and take a break on this bench but then I didn’t want a snake to fall out of the tree. Yes, I know how crazy that sounds.

There were also little signs along the trail either telling about some of the wildlife or about the history of some of the structures. Apparently union troops would hide out along this trail to ensure confederate troops weren’t coming in through the Skidaway Narrows. The never did, but all that is left are these really cool v-shaped areas that they used to hide. Unfortunately I did not get a picture of that. I was enjoying my walk reading about the wildlife until I came upon a sign that had information about copperheads and how they enjoy swampy, marshy areas. From there on it was less about enjoying the nature and more about ensuring the root I was stepping on was actually a root and not a Copperhead. I don’t like snakes very much.

This picture accidentally ended up in black and white but I LOVE it!
This picture accidentally ended up in black and white but I LOVE it!

I’ve had a great weekend and I feel rather adventurous but as I’ve spent enough time adventuring this weekend it’s time for me to settle in with a good book and prepare for next week! I hope you’re enjoying keeping up with me. Being able to write this blog is helping with the whole I have no friends here thing. Also, my best friend starts her internship tomorrow so keep her in your thoughts and prayers for me!

This was the best I could do as well as giving you the sights and the sounds. I know it cannot compare but I did my best. There’s also a video of the crabs on the trail if you go back to my channel.

Leave a Reply

