Savannah Weekend Five

This is my friend Eddie. He's just a little sweetie.
This is my friend Eddie. He’s just a little sweetie.

For those of you who have been hoping I would be getting back to my usual exploring and gallivanting, you’re in luck! Saturday started out with a trip to the Forsyth Farmer’s Market. After reading an article in the newspaper about Joe King, I knew I had to try some of his peanuts while there. I did, and low and behold, they’re as good as the article said they are. I bought some peanuts, South Carolina peaches and a cookie. The peanuts were good, like I said. The cookie was good but…interesting. I thought it was going to be normal chocolate chip. When I bit into it, however, it was more like gingerbread chocolate chip that was gluten-free and was flaky like a pie crust. Not even close to being bad, it was just a new cookie experience. I’m excited to try the peaches in my lunches next week.

I'm sorry this picture isn't so good. It's hard to take good pictures in the trees with their shade, but this is just a snapshot of the farmer's market.
I’m sorry this picture isn’t so good. It’s hard to take good pictures in the trees with their shade, but this is just a snapshot of the farmer’s market.

After going to the farmer’s market I went over to the humane society because I decided I was going to bring home another cat for a couple of weeks to help him or her recoup and get ready for a forever home. This time I got Eddie. He’s a two-month-old black and white short hair and he’s adorable. I also forgot how tiny kittens are. He has an upper respiratory infection like Donna, so he needs the same treatment. I brought him home, ate some lunch and then left to adventure and give him time to settle in and explore his surroundings.

The bottom floor had a gallery with different photographs and paintings related to the Civil Rights Movement. This is a quilt honoring the first nine African American police officers to join the force in Savannah.
The bottom floor had a gallery with different photographs and paintings related to the Civil Rights Movement. This is a quilt honoring the first nine African-American police officers to join the force in Savannah.

So, Saturday I went to the Ralph Mark Civil Rights Museum and the Pin Point Heritage Museum. The civil rights museum was great, except for the 150 high school students that were also there for a field trip. They were nice, I just like to go through museums when it’s quiet. That’s neither here nor there though. It was a great experience, especially for the student rate of $4. The Pin Point Heritage Museum was really my favorite experience of the day though. It is an explanation of the Gullah/Geechee cultural heritage that took Pin Point after freed slaves were able to buy land in Savannah. Today, it’s the only spot on the coast that has not been touched by developers. It was interesting to learn about the culture and way of life that came after slavery. You learn so much about Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa Parks but you don’t get to hear much about what came for the others who just wanted to live their lives in peace. I would definitely encourage you to read up on it.

This is the room where the woman would work with the crab after it had been brought in from the nets.
This is the room where the woman would work with the crab after it had been brought in from the nets.
A view from the Pin Point Heritage Museum. It's crazy to think this scenery is just what people wake/woke up to every morning and helped them make a livelihood.
It’s crazy to think this scenery is just what people wake/woke up to every morning and helped them make a livelihood.

Finally, Alyssa — one of my roommates — and I went and got some dinner. We wanted to find a local place downtown but alas, parking was not so much fun at 7:30 p.m. on a Saturday, go figure, so we ended up at a Mexican place in the mall. It was good though and definitely nice for this Texas girl to get some chips and guac.

So, Sunday was not a busy day. I woke up in a awful mood, so I wasn’t much in the mood to do anything.  I did go get some groceries for lunches next week and other than that took a walk and hung out with this cat. I’m homesick.

Leave a Reply

