One day at a time

80 years – 29,200 days – 700,800 hours – 42,048,000 minutes – 2,522,880,000 seconds

I’m not saying I want to cease to exist at 80. I just picked a number of years that I could possibly live to. Why do we wish days away? Since I was young I would count down the days until my birthday, Christmas, summer camp, vacation, etc. I’m 20 and currently counting down the days until my parents get here, the days until my boyfriend gets here and the days until classes start again. Why do I do this? On top of that on not-so-great days (like today) I wish away the seconds and minutes and hours until I can be asleep. I just want to live every hour, every second I’m given to the fullest of my ability. That doesn’t mean I’m going to drop out of school and not get a job and just travel the world forever. That works for some people but not me. My new goal in life is to do one thing, just one thing each week that scares me. I want to get through that fear with grace, strength and confidence. I want to be brave. It’s important here to remember that bravery does not mean the absence of fear, but instead the willingness and commitment to get through whatever it is you’re scared of despite fear. So, that is a new goal of mine. It can be something small like going to office hours of a professor I hardly know, or something huge like going cliff diving I just want to try.

Are you with me? I’m also going to do my best to write about them each week. Sometimes I might leave out some gory details, but that’s the goal. I’m currently working on something that scares me and until it’s done I’m going to keep that to myself. Just know I’m working on it. 🙂 What fears do you want to conquer?

3 thoughts on “One day at a time

  1. Hey there!

    I really like this. I can relate in so many ways; often times I’m too busy counting down the days that I forget to enjoy the “here and now”. Especially being a college student myself.

    I was also reminded of the Eleanor Roosevelt quote: “Do one thing every day that scares you.” I need to take this advice for sure!

    p.s. thank you for the follow!

    God bless:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a fantastic quote, I don’t think I’m ready to do one a day though ;). I think being able to journal like this and look back one day at all the things I’ve done will help. One day I’ll look back and sure there will be new fears but the old ones will get easier! 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

