I get by with a little help from my friends…

One of my favorite things about doing interviews in downtown Savannah, is it's like I'm being transported to a different time and place. This is one of the gorgeous buildings by one of my interviews the other day.
One of my favorite things about doing interviews in downtown Savannah, is it’s like I’m being transported to a different time and place. This is one of the gorgeous buildings by one of my interviews the other day.

It’s only Tuesday, so I’m not sure how much I can say this, but it’s been a good week thus far. Yesterday I worked on some stuff and then reported on a workshop for Preserve America. Today I started the day with an interview, I’ll have another one around 2ish and another around 3:30 p.m. I’m finally learning what I think is going to help me do my best, even more my best than I’ve been trying to do. Working for The DT, a lot of things had to be about a deadline for me because a lot of the time I was taking 18 hours of class and had to juggle writing on top of that. Here, however, I really get the time to pour thought into each and every story. Now, I’m not dissing The DT AT ALL. I love working there and most things I’ve learned in college originated from The DT. This time is a luxury though and I want to use it as such. So, here’s to thoughtful-ness. If you know me you know I put just enough thought into something to get it done but that’s about it. This will be good for me.

This one made me think of modern meets older buildings.
This one made me think of modern meets older buildings.

So, the last time I went to the doctor we talked about all the things you should be thinking about at 20 years old, both generally and as a female. I have normal blood pressure but obviously that’s a risk so we were talking about what I need to be doing to maintain a regular blood pressure. Water ­— obviously — came up. I’ve been drinking water in Savannah but it hasn’t been more than 32 ounces on most days. The last couple days I’ve FINALLY gotten up to 64 ounces — what I’m supposed to be drinking — and I would just like to let you know it’s terrible. I have to pee all the time and when I wake up in the morning, guess what? More water. Also, she said for every 12 ounces of soda it takes an additional 32 ounces of water to flush that out, so boo. Moral of the story: I’ve been eating my salad and grapes for lunch at my desk in an effort to not buy anything bad – read soda – downstairs in the cafeteria and taking all the money out of my account and keeping the cash at home so I can’t buy soda on the way home. BLEH.
Now, I’m off to the bathroom. Maybe I’ll beat the six times I had to go yesterday because, you know, water.

Obviously you always have to have the pretty windows and brick.
Obviously you always have to have the pretty windows and brick.

Four wise men once said “I get by with a little help from my friends.” I’m using the word “wise” loosely here because I’ve never really been a Beatles fan. Also, using the word never loosely. If you know me you know how much of a fan I’m not. With that said, friends can make all the difference in the world. Last night the other intern and I went to her house, made dinner and watched “27 Dresses.” I left feeling more rejuvenated than I have in weeks. Keep in mind it was 11 p.m. The rejuvenation was not from the hour. That’s for sure. I just…I guess I forgot how important it is for me to be around my friends. Not just around people, but people who I trust, can express myself around and really be myself. Needless to say, I’m feeling better about these last tree and a half weeks. We’re also getting together tonight to make dinner again and watch another movie. I’m pulling for Devil Wears Prada. With that said, I think it’s important for each one of you who might be reading this to understand how important your friends are. I’m not even close to an outgoing person. I think I used to be and now I am when I have to be, but I’d much rather a quiet evening in with a good friend or two than being in the middle of everything. With that said, I think friendship and community is one of those things that should be on Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Don’t let your job, school or whatever your desires might be outshine that need. We ALL need our friends, whether that’s one or a whole sorority. So hang out with a friend today and tell them how much they mean to you.

Finally, this made me think of One Tree Hill and the girl behind the red door.
Finally, this made me think of One Tree Hill and the girl behind the red door.

With that said, my internship was pretty fantastic today. I spent a good portion of the day either running around interviewing people or working on some story or another. It feels good. I love writing and I love being busy doing it. I can’t say I’m not looking forward to a three-day weekend next week and a visit from my mom and dad. I am. 🙂

Today I found out I messed up pretty big. I’m not going to go into detail about it, but basically I messed up. I’m trying to take responsibility for it — as much as I can — and I just feel awful. Add to that the ONE person I want to talk about it with to help me prepare for the big talking about it is MIA. Surprise, surprise. I can’t get too upset. I have days I don’t really feel like talking too. On top of that I saw this day coming, but that doesn’t mean it came at an opportune time. It honestly is kind of the most awful timing possible. I didn’t work very long today as I have to be up at work for quite a while tomorrow. I’m just really not feeling it today. Oh well, hopefully tomorrow. If not, tomorrow is Friday and my parents will be here in a week and I can’t wait. Sometimes you just have to take life one day at a time.

All 323 canoes and kayaks were lined up one after another waiting for their owners to continue their journey.
All 323 canoes and kayaks were lined up one after another waiting for their owners to continue their journey.

So, I know it’s really selfish to post my recap of this week before same-sex marriage but apparently it’s happening anyway. So. Additionally, I’m not sure I’m mentally ready to write that post. That’s not to say I don’t know what I want to say because I DEFINITELY know exactly what I want to say. It’s just that, well, here. This morning began at 5 a.m. (after going to sleep at 1 a.m. last night because apparently the world wanted to go up in smoke yesterday) to get up and get ready to go to the Savannah(ish) leg of Paddle Georgia. Now, Paddle Georgia is a REALLY cool thing where the pick a river in Georgia each year and then they canoe and kayak down it. This year they picked the Ogeechee. Now, the Ogeechee is special because of something called the 2011 fish kill. Well, at least that’s what I’m going to call it. A company along the river started up two additional production lines and sent that through their discharge pipe without getting a new permit for that change. That resulted in upwards of 38,000 fish killed in about 70 river miles.

The water looks great. The Ogeechee is a blackwater river, which means the trees and vegetation around it leak nutrients into the river and give it a darker color.
The water looks great. The Ogeechee is a blackwater river, which means the trees and vegetation around it leak nutrients into the river and give it a darker color.

The State of Georgia wasn’t able to pin the kill on the company, but they did agree to a consent order that required the company to fund three projects. In addition to that, the Ogeechee Riverkeeper agreed to a consent order where they received funds as well as were able to have the permits tightened for the river. As a result, this Paddle Georgia experience was one of the cleanest many of the Paddlers had been on. It was a cool thing. It’s also definitely something I would be interested in participating in in Georgia in the future. So, the second half of my PG observations involved a lot of sun. I’m not sure if you’re aware of this but I’m pretty fair so basically I feel like my shoulders are going to burn off of my body. It’s fun. I really enjoyed the experience, though!

Finally, I thought this sign was cool. It was right outside the site for the culmination of Paddle Georgia. I hope to see a manatee while I'm here.
Finally, I thought this sign was cool. It was right outside the site for the culmination of Paddle Georgia. I hope to see a manatee while I’m here.
Leave a Reply

