Lipstick, foundations and home

Oh the obsessions for this week. This week there are three:

1. Red lipstick

product-image
I almost feel silly writing this because it’s not like red lipstick is anything new to me. Not only that but there’s not specific brands, shades or consistency that I’m raving about. It’s only red lipstick. The thing with red lipstick, especially this week, is that it makes me feel powerful and it gives me confidence. This week — despite working hard to not let life bother me — I’ve had some times that I felt like I couldn’t get through the week, couldn’t get through the month and couldn’t take care of the things I needed to. In addition to the rousing pep talk I gave myself, the grace of God and decision that worrying isn’t going to do anything, swiping on some red lipstick made me feel like I really can handle it. I really can come out on the other side of this situation with more knowledge, grace and confidence. This week specifically, it’s been lip crayon. Honestly, who thought of crayon lipstick? These are an obsession in themselves but I’m not going to give them their own section well, because I don’t really want to. But they’re lip crayons from Rue 21 and they’re fantastic. You can buy them for $2.99 online from Rue 21.

2. e.l.f. BB Cream

14385_83261_900px51398.15.jpg.51398.15
Wow this stuff is awesome. So, I’ve lived quite a while looking for a base I didn’t hate. Not even a base I loved, just a base I didn’t hate. I bought this one at Target and boom: love at first application. It has SPF 20 sunscreen in it, which makes it perfect for handling the hot Savannah summer sun or going off on a hike and swiping it on and going. It also has acne-fighting medication in it, in addition to being pretty cheap and it just feels good when you put it on. Liquids and creams tend to make my face feel cakey and I keep using them because I’d rather feel cakey and covered than breezy and not covered but this is truly a dream. I bought it from Target for $6 but you can also buy them online for $6 from e.l.f.

3. “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Being away from home this summer has been something of a growing experience. Not only being away from home but being away from those people who are home for me: my mom, dad, brothers, nephew and best friends really hits, well, home. This song almost perfectly describes the way I feel about my boyfriend and I love the folksy feel of it. It has also helped me get to a point where I’m thankful I miss him. It’s not this open missing that’s just annoying, it’s the missing that there is someone out there that feels like home for me and that’s good and I like it and it makes me happy. So give it a listen, I’ve provided the video above! Also, my favorite of all the Home lyrics:

Laugh until we think we’ll die,
Barefoot on a summer night
Never could be sweeter than with you

Home, let me come home,
Home is wherever I’m with you
Our home, yes, I am home,
Home is when I’m alone with you

Leave a Reply

