Lessons from the Savannah Summer – Internship week eight

cropped-img_1010.jpg

So, this week was my last and it was great. My mom told me to be thinking about all of the things I’ve learned, so I’ve compiled them into this handy little blog post and it will be my last internship post.

I know you’ve heard me complain day in and day out about this, but being virtually alone in Savannah this summer has been so good for me. I’ve learned quite a bit about myself and life in general. While I know a lot of these are lessons I had to learn on my own and you quite possibly will have to as well, here are some of the things I’ve learned during my Savannah summer.

Personal Lessons
1. Focusing on myself and my dreams (even while in a relationship) is okay and healthy. If we’re meant to be together it will happen, but I need to make sure I’m not denying myself in the things that are important in life: my career and my happiness.
2. Family is a wonderful thing. Enjoy your time with them.
3. Being alone is good for the soul. Don’t be afraid of your thoughts. The more time you spend with them the more comfortable you’ll be with them.
4. Trust is a BIG DEAL. Trusting my boyfriend (at the time) and trusting myself to be apart for eight weeks was hard in the beginning. I just had to realize for myself that he loves me and cares about me (and I him) and if he didn’t, we wouldn’t be in a relationship.
5. Doing things alone is often a lot more fun and easier than doing things with other people. You’re the only one whose needs you have to worry about.
6. It’s okay to be selfish. Now, take this one with a grain of salt. I’m not saying it’s okay to ALWAYS be selfish but doing what you want and following your dreams isn’t wrong.
7. Communication is hard. Taking myself away from my friends, family and boyfriend means I had to rely a lot on my words to further those relationships. It’s only then that I realized how HARD it is to communicate my thoughts and feelings.
8. If you turn the air to be drawn from inside your car instead of outside, the air conditioner in your car will get much cooler much faster. That is helpful in the hot summer air that is Savannah…and Lubbock…and Houston.
9. You are stronger than you even know. When you think you’re at your breaking point you’ll find another bit of strength inside of you and rally.
10. Blogging is literally one of my favorite things in the world.
11. Canes and Whataburger. That’s all.
12. I’m a city girl through-and-through.
13. Savannah rain smells like the ocean (and not good like the ocean).
14. Sharks are some of the most interesting and cool animals EVER.
15. Your friends are the ones that are going to be there through anything. Don’t be afraid to lean on them but don’t take your anger or hurt out on them when they’re just trying to help.

Professional Lessons
1. According to the internship coordinator at Tech, this internship is supposed to help me know if I really want to be a journalist in the future. The answer is YES.
2. Connections in the workplace really are a great thing. They serve as not only great resources when you’re new in the city or the newsroom but also great people to talk with. They’re pretty cool.
3. Triple check EVERYTHING. I don’t care if you know how to spell Joe. Go back and look at your notes twice to make sure you have it right. (And actually look at each letter).
4. Story ideas come from some of the most unlikely places.
5. Being able to listen is one of the most important traits I’ve learned for a journalist thus far. I don’t mean listening during or to your boss (I mean, that’s important too) but I mean listening and observing in the community.
6. Everyone has a story to tell.
7. I really do love writing feature stories.
8. My favorite part about journalism is sitting down and talking with someone about their life, their experiences and what they’re excited about.
9. In-person interviews really are way better than interviews over the phone. I cannot stress that enough.
10. I also learned some things about the digital mindset that are nitty and gritty and you probably wouldn’t be interested in, in addition to random AP Style or story format things that you also wouldn’t be interested but know I learned those too.

This is not a list of everything I can think of, nor can I think of everything. I just can’t begin to stress how good this summer was for me and how much I’ve enjoyed being here, learning and getting to know some really awesome journalists.

Leave a Reply

