The adventures of Katy and mommy

CNN is giant and breathtaking. I tried to do my best to show it here, but I couldn't do it justice with just a picture.
CNN is giant and breathtaking. I tried to do my best to show it here, but I couldn’t do it justice with just a picture.

It’s almost amusing how absent I’ve been. Notice how I said almost. I feel awful but it was a much-needed week-long break. After going 100 percent those last couple of weeks of my internship it felt good to just take a break and relax. The relaxing did include driving cross-country (once again) and helping my mom around the house, it’s still been good. So, since we last spoke a lot has happened!

My mom came to pick me up. We met in Atlanta, spent the night and then went to CNN in the morning. That was fabulous and I guess kind of recemented why I want to be a journalist. I want to tell the stories of people from “far off lands” or even right here at home. In the words of CNN, I want to “go there.” That’s the only thing I have ever been this passionate about, so it was good to feel secure in my choice, not only because I had a fantastic summer with the SMN but also because I know that love is still in my heart. Oh, ALSO, I had two front-page articles this summer! I guess because it’s still early for me I still get super excited about that. Either way, I have some good clips I can use when applying for the next internships or job. It’s good. I’m pumped.

Again, I couldn't do the newsroom justice with just a picture. Obviously that was my favorite part though.
Again, I couldn’t do the newsroom justice with just a picture. Obviously that was my favorite part though.

From CNN we drove all the way to New Orleans and stayed the night in the French Quarter. I’ve never been to NOLA so it was super exciting and I really enjoyed my time there. I was also proud of my mom because I don’t think that’s on her top ten list of things she wants to do before she dies.

So, we got home that night and then the next morning I got to go to the splash pad with my sister-in-law, nephew and niece. I love her and those kids so that was pretty fantastic. I love hanging out with all of them. They’re such a cool little family. Also, my nephew is one of my favorite little men and my niece my favorite little lady. So, there’s that. From there I’ve just been hanging out at home, working on school work, helping my mom when I can and walking with my dad in the mornings. Nothing too exciting, but it’s good to be home only for just a while.

Me and my bff Anderson.
Me and my bff Anderson.
IMG_1760
She’s such a good sport about taking pictures with me. Also, the sun was super bright.
Did you know there is a giant Disney World castle in NOLA? I'm not sure what it actually was but it looks cool. So.
Did you know there is a giant Disney World castle in NOLA? I’m not sure what it actually was but it looks cool. So.
Hehe, we matched.
Hehe, we matched.
Leave a Reply

