Why I chose journalism instead of a large paycheck

Kristen Barton

A woman holds up a pen at a vigil for the victims of the Charlie Hebdo attack. Holding up a pen or pencil became a symbol for Freedom of the Press and Freedom of Speech after the massacre. Photo from Reuters A woman holds up a pen at a vigil for the victims of the Charlie Hebdo attack. Holding up a pen or pencil became a symbol for Freedom of the Press and Freedom of Speech after the shooting. Photo from Reuters.

There are so many questions someone can ask a journalism major about their decision to study journalism, but the one I get asked the most is why I chose a profession with such low pay.

Iโ€™m sorry, what?

There are countless reasons I decided to go into journalism, and none of them have to do with money, and I am okay with that. Money is not what I plan my future around.

Usually my immediate response to why I chose journalism and no money is because itโ€™s what I am passionate about. The news and has a huge part in shaping society, it is what connects people to oneโ€ฆ

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

