we’re all mad here

IMG_2007-3

Hey guys! So, life update: I got a tattoo. This is my first tattoo and I’m pretty pumped. While I am a firm believer that you should get a tattoo that makes you happy and if that’s a pretty flower that means nothing, then fine. If you’re happy then I’m happy. While I have that belief, my tattoo means a lot to me. For a while I’ve had some…issues with my personality. I just didn’t understand why I was so ridiculously emotional and went from zero to 100 in like a second. There were some times that I felt like something was wrong with me and I didn’t like it. I had been working with my doctor for a bit on controlling my hormones and after visiting a new doctor in Lubbock, she told me that short of taking chemical tests she felt sure she could diagnose me with mild anxiety. Now I know it’s because of my hormones and the way my body operates, yes, but that didn’t make it any easier.

I spent several nights crying to my boyfriend trying to figure out why it was my own body that was doing this to me. I thought I was crazy and…damaged. After talking with my mom though, she helped me to realize that this is just the way I was made and the way I was made is in the image of God and there’s nothing more beautiful and perfect than that. This tattoo, however, helps me to remember that we’re all crazy in our own ways and that’s good. In this book/movie (Alice in Wonderland if you didn’t get that) this exchange also occurs and I love it:

The Mad Hatter: Have I gone mad?
[Alice checks Hatter’s temperature]
Alice Kingsley: I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.

We’re all a little mad and that’s what gives the world the spice of life. All the little quirks and differences from person to person makes it interesting. I don’t think I’d want to live in a world where everyone was the same or even where I am different than I am today.

So, world. I got a tattoo. I conquered a fear of mine (pain) to do something I’ve wanted to do for quite a while. While I was in the tattoo parlor the man who was doing mine said, “You will find you like this even more than you think you do. It becomes almost a part of who you are.” My feelings and journey and emotions will always be a part of who I am and I can’t imagine something I’d rather have on my body forever.

Do you want any tattoos? What and why?

3 thoughts on “we’re all mad here

Leave a Reply

