Into the New Year

IMG_3902
Here’s a little look into some of the happenings of my 2015!

As I am spending quite a bit of my time answering 50 questions about last year and the new year, I realized something important: none of it matters. Now this may seem like an awful realization. I lived 365 days since the last new year and I feel like none of it matters? Not exactly.

My brother (he’s a smart dude) has this way to explain our own “person” as not who we have become, but that we are always becoming.

The changes I made internally over the past year have in no way stopped, and I am only going to continue changing to become the best version of myself possible. So, I’m going to keep goals this year. Not New Years Resolutions, because who ever keeps these, but goals for each month. Then I’ll check in and tell you how those goals went and give some for the next month. Sound good?

This constant state of bettering myself fits more with the way that we all as humans are forever becoming, instead of the idea that one day I will become who I want to be and nothing will ever change. Got it?

January 2016

Fitness

I want to work out at least three times a week. Now, this isn’t actually my fitness goal because I want to work out more than that, but I’m going to put down three times a week, so at the very least I’m there three times a week. It’s great.

School

I want to go into this semester with the back burners already in full gear, instead of just slowly sliding into a new semester. I want to turn in all assignments on time, read the textbook and be present in class.

Financial

I’m not entirely sure what my financial situation will be when I go back to school, but I NEED to start putting money away for an apartment (among other things) when I graduate. Because I won’t be getting back to Lubbock any time soon, I’m going to say I want $100 saved for the future. That’s not much, but it’s something.

Faith

In addition to going back to church every Sunday, I want to find a Bible study I really connect with and work through that. I also want to make sure I’m makingย time for God in my everyday life.

Relationships

Finally, I want to continue to strengthen my relationships with the people around me. That means putting my phone down when they talk and really living in the moment. I only have eight months left with those in Lubbock, and I want to make that count.

Random Thing

Each month I want a random goal that strays from my traditional life headings. When filling out the 50 questions that I soon stopped, I realized I don’t think I learned a new skill in all of 2015. Now that seems rather wrong to me, so in January, I’m going to learn a new skill. Do you have any suggestions?

 

If you think these goals don’t actually sound like goals, you’re probably right. There’s not a whole lot of measurable things in here. However, these are the things that matter to me. I don’t want to put myself in a hole by saying I’m going to spend 30 minutes with God each day, or I’m going to have at least three times to hang out with my friends each week. That seems silly to me. Either way, I’ll let you know how it goes.

What are some of your goals for January?

3 thoughts on “Into the New Year

  1. Two goals really – determination. To find that part of my spirit that determines to be more, do more, achieve more – in all areas of my life.
    And then the ever continuing one (and no, not getting thin and healthy – I’ve given up :P) but to actually finally self publish one of my books ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

