Week 2 – 2016

I think I have decided to count my weeks as beginning on Sundays and ending on Saturdays. With that said…

Sunday

I did nothing… very literally nothing. I think I played some card games with my brother, which is fun because we’re very close but other than that I didn’t do anything.

Monday

IMG_3930I got to go to the zoo with my niece, nephew and sister-in-law. It was THE BOMB. One thing none of y’all know about me is how much I love the zoo. I think there’s secretly a five-year-old trapped inside my body, because if I could go to the zoo every day I would. My nephew finally picked a favorite animal, which my sister-in-law and I were pretty excited about because before that moment we were kind of starting to think it was a fish. -__- Now there’s nothing wrong with fish, it’s just more exciting to pick an animal that makes noises and doesn’t just swim around all the time. If your Β favorite animal is a fish, then, well, I’m sorry.

While he picked the tiger when I asked him his favorite again, I think it was really the “effephant.” He stood at the fence watching them for a quite a while in kid time. Not only do I love the zoo, but my sister-in-law is basically the sister I’ve never had and I’m embarrassingly obsessed with my niece and nephew. So, good day.

After that, I came home and made my “world famous” pretzel chicken. It’s really a Rachael Ray recipe, but you should definitely try it. Check it out here. I enjoy being able to help my family out when I’m home, especially when they all have real jobs, so it’s nice to be able to make dinner.

Tuesday

Today I got to go back and visit my old high school and talk with some juniors and seniors about their fears about college and what to expect. While I knew I was going to enjoy it, I loved it a whole lot more than I could have even imagined. I LOVE my school more than I could have ever thought, so being able to share that pride with other students, whether they’re going to my school or not, is awesome. There is something about college that makes people proud, whether you go to Texas Tech like I do, or UT or the University of Hawaii. You’re a part of something and (mostly) you support that school.

Additionally, college is one of the best experiences of my life. So to be able to encourage those students to hold on because their time is coming, well, it’s just pretty great.

However, talking about how much I love my school and Lubbock made me pretty homesick. I’m loving being home, but it’s going to be nice to get back to my room in my apartment in my city/town with my friends.

I made dinner again tonight, and this time, I made a take on Rachael Ray’s Bistro Burgers. Again, they were awesome. πŸ˜‰

Wednesday

I really just did a whole lot of nothing today. It’s nice to be able to enjoy home though before I go back to the frozen wasteland that it Lubbock.

Thursday

Thursday was another day of nothing, however, I did spend some time thinking about blogging and crafting for littles for next semester. I’m going to write a post about littles here soon, and I’m pretty excited about that. I also started working on my obsessions post for Sunday. It’s good to veg out, but it’s also going to be good to get home next week and get back to doing things.

It seems my friend(ish) person is riding with my back to Lubbock, so I’m not 100 percent sure how eight hours in the car with someone who is not my best friend is going to go, so wish me luck there.

I’m also looking at/thinking about and applying for jobs, so it’s good that I’m thinking like an adult. I think the only reason I’m so motivated to look at jobs right now is the fact that after graduation the sooner I get a job, the sooner I can get a dog and decorate a whole space as my own, so that’s pretty exciting for me.

Friday

So, today I was SUPPOSED to be babysitting for my brother and sister-in-law while they went out on a date, but unfortunately, my sister-in-law got sick and here I am sitting waiting for dinner at home. Pizza and a movie with my other brother will be nice, though, and he already asked about tomorrow night for babysitting so hopefully it will all work out.

He also took me to lunch today, which was nice. I like to catch up with him and see what’s going on in his life. He also asked me the question of the month it seems: “What are you doing after graduation?” He and I spent some time looking at all the options and how each might pan out. I know I want to be a foreign correspondent and/or a political reporter. The issue, however, is that those jobs are not the ones you get right out of college and it seems to me that they’re hard to get with a degree from a normal university. He talked me through making contacts and keeping those, but he also helped me explore the possibility of graduate school for journalism – something I’ve never thought about previously. Now that’s all I can think about and while it’s not on my top 10 list of things to do, it’s good to know there’s another option that might get me to where I want to go. Have any of y’all thought about grad school? Why or why not?

After writing this, I will eat some pizza with family and watch a movie and then hopefully pass out. The days leading up to my journey back to Lubbock are dwindling, so I’m trying to spend as much time with the fam as I can.

Saturday

You know those days when you actually do very little, but the few things you did were surprisingly fulfilling or helped someone else? That was my Saturday.

I woke up late and went to my family’s storage unit to find a dry erase board thing I wanted to take back to school. In addition to the dry erase board, I found shoes, wind chimes and a bunch of other cool and fun stuff that makes it feel like I basically had Christmas in my closet. It was grand. Then I went to the store to pick up some things for dinner for my mom and then I came home!

I also got to babysit my niece and nephew, which, if you know me is one of my favorite things to do. My nephew kept me entertained with his antics and my niece with her beautiful smiles and big blue eyes. I also got to spend some time talking with my brother and sister-in-law, which was fabulous. I did not win the Powerball and my basketball team did not beat the number one ranked team in the nation, but all-in-all it was great.

 

Next week I will be taking the cats to the vet, moving back to Lubbock and reorganizing my room, so here’s to hoping! Also, I hope y’all have a great week. Did you do anything fun/cool/notable last week?

 

Leave a Reply

