D.C. Weekend 1

The issue with these blogsΒ is if I don’t blog a little bit each night I forget what I did or what happened because all of my days start to run together, lol. I will do my best to remember, though, and from now on blog a little each day.

Sorry for the long post πŸ™‚

IMG_0831So, on Thursday I did some more settling in during the day. I don’t like to drive during the day because it’s hard to get out of my parking spot and traffic is crazy. I could take the metro but I’m trying not to use SO much money just traveling around places. So, I got ready for my classes Thursday during the day and then decided I was going to try to do some monuments at night.
Monuments at night is definitely the way to go. There are fewer people, it’s cooler and there’s something about the monuments being lit up against the night sky that is so breathtaking. I only got to go to the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial and the Washington Monument for a couple of different reasons, but they were amazing. I intend on doing others in the evening as well (just taking an Uber instead of my car because parking isn’t the best).

IMG_0851
Part of the MLK Jr. Memorial.

The Washington Monument was great, but it’s something I’ve seen in pictures for years, so I knew exactly what to expect. I enjoyed seeing it, but I think having all of those pre-thought out ideas of it made it less breathtaking than it is. The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, however, is amazing. It’s right on the water and well… I’m going to let you figure the rest out for yourself (except for my pictures).

IMG_0862
I know. My parents are the cutest. Also, that’s my office building!

So, Friday my parents came to visit! My mom is here partly to see me and partly to see my dad and my dad is here for business, but I’m definitely enjoying seeing them while they’re both here! So they came by to see my living arrangement and then we did happy hour at this restaurant right next to my apartment. (We’re just going to call it an apartment from now on because I don’t know what else to call it. If you know my mama, you know she’s not really into the whole alcohol thing, so to see her get a marg and be able to get one myself (even though it was WAY too strong) was fun. Then we walked to and around in my office building. Then we went to Georgetown!

IMG_0869
Even though it wasn’t my favorite there were some cool opportunities for pictures.

Now I know Georgetown was on my list of things I wanted to do, but I wasn’t too impressed. It was a lot of tourism, a lot of shops and not very much history. My mom loved walking along the residential streetsΒ because the houses are pretty cool. I’ll give them that.

IMG_0878
One of the only pictures I got at the Smithsonian because the exhibits are amazing and there were so many people.

Saturday my fabulous roommate moved in and we went to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum. We were there for maybe 2.5 hours and we didn’t even begin to see everything. There were SO many people, though. I may go back later just to be able to see more things, but from what I was able to see it was amazing. Then we went and found some dinner at this bar along U Street. U Street is in an up-and-coming neighborhood and has been restored into something that is now called an “integrated community.” There are so many different types of people and types of things along the street, it was awesome. Also, the food at the restaurant was good.

IMG_0882
Sorry for using a Snapchat picture, but I hope you can tell how cool this place is!

Then we came home to watch the Thunder lose and that was kind of sad.

On Sunday, I got to hang out with my mom and dad again. I LOVE my roommate, but it’s good to be able to see my mom and dad while they’re here. We went to Annapolis, Maryland. My dad went to the Naval Academy, and while I know I’ve been to Annapolis at least once (when we went to tour for my brother) I couldn’t remember a whole lot and I felt bad.

IMG_0906
That’s from the scenic overlook right before you get into Annapolis. You can see the Naval Academy off in the distance.

Now let me tell you: it’s the cutest little town you ever did see. We drove around a bit first to see the town and then parked to have some lunch and walk around a bit. We had lunch at Charlie’s Bar and I had (I think) the best calzone I’ve ever had in my life and my mom and my dad got to watch the boats come in – I was on the other side of the table so I couldn’t. ***Fun fact: the difference between a boat and a ship is you can put a boat on a ship. I’m not sure if my dad was just joking, but that’s what he said so that’s what I’m going to tell you!***

IMG_0907
We tried on hats and my mom is adorable!

After lunch, we got to walk around a bunch of little shops and eat some frozen yogurt on the street corner. I love towns with little shops lining the streets. I feel like you’re being transported to a different time and place. It did rain on us a little bit, but aside from having to use the restroom and my hair getting messed up, the rain was nice. They also bought me some cool new stuff like vitamins and an ID holder, so I was excited about that. (You know you’re an adult when these are the things you get excited about. The ID holder was super cute though).

Saying goodbye to my mama and maybe (we will have to see what our schedules look like) my dad was bittersweet, but I’m excited about this adventure and my mom has to get back to close out her year with her preschoolers!

 

IMG_0931
Portraits in the Holocaust Museum.

Monday was Memorial Day so we got one more day to goof aound before getting down to work. We first went to the Holocaust Museum, which was amazing. Definitely plan ahead to make sure you can get tickets (it’s free for the main exhibit, but they do tickets to make sure there aren’t too many people in the exhibit and put some time aside to really take your time through it. It’s three floors of history of the Holocaust and it’s amazing and sobering and… another word that I don’t think I know. I don’t want to give much away because there’s something about going through it with no prior knowledge that I think makes it that much more personal. Oh! One ***pro tip: when you get your identification card, don’t read it yet. Wait until the lady (or man) comes through and talks to you in the elevator and then read each page for each floor. DON’T CHEAT!*** Also, my person lived and that made me really happy.

 

 

IMG_0967
Dorothy’s real slippers!

From there we went to the American History Museum part of the Smithsonian. So, one thing about spending hours in museums is you get to a point where there are like a million exhibits and artifacts and things to describe each artifact. So we went through the American war exhibit, an exihibit about the presidency and the First Ladies and African-American culture and did our best to read each explanation and piece of history. There was definitely a lot of of interesting things to look at like the first Elmo and Dorothy’s slippers. πŸ™‚

 

IMG_0971After that we got some ice cream at a food truck and sat on the grass outside the Washington Monument. It was so great and felt like a real “DC Moment.”

Then we went to Arlington National Cemetary first, because we wanted to, and second, because it felt like a good thing to do on Memorial Day. The cemetary was breathtaking and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and changing of the guards was something I could have never imagined in my own mind. The area just felt like “hallowed ground.” It’s indescribable. There are a lot of hills though. Bring walking shoes.

IMG_1002
It doesn’t do it justice, but here’s the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

 

We walked 14,000 steps on Monday alone.

Sorry for the long post, it was my first weekend and it was a long one. Let me know if there’s anything you like or anything you think I should see in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

