The Idea of Soulmates

94bc5a2da9afa92a38ec993319396bcb

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while, but I’d always struggled with finding the intersection of “Listen to me cynics, I promise I don’t see flowers everywhere I walk,” and “Dreamers, I have dreams for love too.” The truth is, my dreams for love happen when I’m just about to fall asleep and I can’t feel silly for wishing I lived in a world where everything was perfect and every Cinderella (or somewhere in between) found her Prince Charming someday.

I believe in soulmates. I haven’t always, though. When I was in seventh grade I remember going around telling people I was never going to get married because love was just something that Hallmark made up to sell more cards. Isn’t that sad? I was a middle schooler who grew up in a loving household with two parents who loved each other and me and two brothers who loved me too. I think I meant romantic love, though.

I went from that girl to the girl in high school who was convinced she was going to end up with this blond haired, blue eyed boy whose company I enjoyed because he challenged me (read made me feel stupid but I thought I liked it because it meant someone was actually talking to me about real things).

Then in college, I met my romantic soulmate and honestly? We’re not going to touch on that very much because I’m in a place right now where I’m doing things for me.

Even though we’re not together, I believe in soulmates.

I might have a rather unconventional definition of soulmates, though. Sure I believe this boy is and I don’t really think I’m going to end up with anyone else, but so are my best friends.

When did we decide that a soulmate has to be romantic and each of us can only have one?

In my mind, a soulmate is someone who matches a piece of your heart. Please tell me you don’t live in a world where each one of your friends knows all of your secrets? I think you need to guard your heart a little bit better if they do. We have those close friends, though. The ones we call at 3 a.m. when we feel like our heart has been shattered. We all have that friend who we call when we just got the job interview or we’re thrilled to have gone down another size because we know they’re going to be just as excited for you as you are yourself. We all have that love, that deep, aching, awe-inspiring love that seems to get even the most simple things: from sitting and listening to the rain hit the rooftop or standing on the balcony watching the snow fall and engulf the space in a thick white blanket.

We all have people who speak to a piece of our heart and THOSE are our soulmates.

I believe in soulmates, but I don’t believe I have just one. 

Leave a Reply

