Blogging Challenge Day 1 – “Your Blog’s Name”

So, if we’re being honest, I wanted to do this challenge for two reasons. The first is the previously mentioned “I love blogging and this will give me specific things to write about for several days in a row and that’s fun for me.” Second, is because I wanted to write this post. Some of you may have noticed the name change, and as a part of “rebranding” I wanted to tell how I came up with that name, so, here goes!

They say everyone needs to have a focus when blogging. My focus WAS college. I was in college, a sorority/female organization thing, and getting two degrees. It was a great place to be and fun to blog about my experiences. However, I’m graduating and so I no longer fit that niche anymore. I’m NOT a fashion blogger or a travel blogger and I don’t live the “Pinterest life.” I just like blogging about me – the things I learn, the adventures I take and maybe a recipe here or there. So, a lifestyle blogger I am. I didn’t want to be just any lifestyle blogger, though. I think being a twenty-something is such an important time in my life and I want to capitalize on THAT. I want to talk to other twenty-somethings and learn from them and such.

So, then I tried to make some cute name like, “Pearls, Politics, and Perrier.” That’s cute, right? However, I don’t wear pearls, nor do I know for sure that I will be working in politics (also I don’t blog about politics) and I surely do not have the money to drink Perrier. So, I went back to the drawing board and settled on…

Here’s to Twenty Something

I don’t know about you, but I definitely feel that my generation and the “twenty something” generation gets a lot of crap for whatever it is we’re doing. I know for me, it has made me apologize for a lot of things that I think or want to do. I want to be selfish with my time, I don’t want to get married yet, I want to experience life more than I really want anything else at this point. That’s considered lazy and selfish and a bunch of other terrible things that I’m really tired of hearing.

I am ready to be successful and I do NOT want to sleep on my parent’s couch, however, I’m good at dreaming and I’m holding out hope that I’m going to end up at my dream job. That does not mean I’m just hoping it will fall into my lap though. I’m actively searching, applying for jobs and building to my resume. I’m graduating with two degrees and five internships for goodness sakes.

I don’t want to get married and I want to be selfish with my time but that doesn’t mean I want to be selfish. I want to volunteer with organizations I feel strongly about and donate my money (when my budget will allow) but I also want to pick up and go hiking for a weekend or get whatever kind of dog I want. I want to decide a weekend in Philly is worth eating Ramen after work for a week because I only have to think/care about me.

I found a picture the other day that I feel is perfectly and says exactly what I want this blog to say.

5af111b0fb5a883b30e340d72cb03055

I want to take life into my hands and squeeze it for all it’s worth and I’m tired of being told no.

I’m tired of being told I can’t do something because of the way it’s been done before.

So, this blog is an anthem to being twenty something.
This blog is showing that I can do what I want to do but be successful at the same time.
This blog is saying my definition of “success” is enough for myself and I don’t have to listen to other people’s idea.
This blog is saying I’m great exactly the way I am, but so is the next girl, and I still have things to work on.

This blog is my sanctuary as a twenty something and I hope it will be the same for you.

Aren’t you glad you asked?

2 thoughts on “Blogging Challenge Day 1 – “Your Blog’s Name”

Leave a Reply

