Blogging Challenge Day 14 – “3 Healthy Habits”

30 Day Blogging Challenge

  1. My first healthy habit would actually be blogging. I have found that blogging is a stress reliever for me. It allows me to reflect on the things going on in my life and look back on the fun things. It also gives me an outlet or a hobby to be able to just do something that I enjoy and comes naturally to me, without having to stress or beat myself up for whatever it is. I think it’s vital for everything to have a healthy habit like this. Learning and trying new things is great, but to have something that just feels so comfortable and almost like “home” is freeing.
  2. Talking to my mom/dad/brothers/sister/friends on the phone. Being in DC is great, but it means I’m away from the people that I know the best, know me the best and (generally speaking) love me the best. Making new friends and hanging out with my new friends is so fun and I love it, but I think it’s important to my sanity to take time out of my weeks/weekends and talk to the people back home that know me well and love me no matter what. They help me with anything I’ve had any trouble dealing with and recharge my battery.
  3. Prayer. Now, this doesn’t have to look the same for me as it does for anyone else. Prayer, meditation, self-reflection, whatever it is for you in your religion. I think it is important to spend time with whatever higher power you believe in, though. You’re taking your problems, issues, sorrows, to something higher than yourself and hopefully gaining insight and peace.
  4. (Bonus) Get a good night’s rest. Rest is vital. For the first time in my life I am prioritizing getting enough sleep and it is life changing. I wake up happy, peppy and rejuvenated. I am also actually noticing the difference between the days I get enough sleep and the days I don’t. I’m not very fun to be around when I haven’t gotten enough sleep, and I think I owe it to the people who are around me (as well as to myself) to get enough.

What’s funny, is a year ago my healthy habits would have been things on the outside. I may have said flossing my teeth or putting on lotion every day. I still think those are important, but I am also spending a whole lot of time on the introspective side of things. If your soul and your heart is having issues, you’re going to have issues. It’s important to make sure you’re center in whatever way that is before then going on to new things.

Leave a Reply

