Common courtesy just isn’t common

Today I'm musing...

How hard is it? How hard is it to take a second from your life and think about someone else? Did no one’s mom (or dad) ever say to them “Do unto others as you would have done to you?” I get that that one is a Biblical thing but I feel like don’t do something to someone if you wouldn’t want them to do the same thing to you is a pretty common thing for parents to try to instill in their children.

I’m so sick and tired of people forgetting that.

It’s not even that hard in most cases. If you see someone struggling with stuff in their hands it takes two seconds to hold the door for them. If someone is running to catch the elevator you don’t have to intentionally shut it. If you’re in the elevator you don’t have to yell into your phone because you’re on an important phone call and you can’t wait the five seconds it takes to get to the next floor.

I’m not trying to say I’m a saint. I know there are probably a lot of things that I do that just aren’t that considerate, and for those I’m sorry. I’m making a conscience effort though, especially the more I see how awful other people can be, the more I try to take a good look at my own actions and make sure I’m not hurting someone else accidentally.

Also, on a completely irrelevant(ish) note, my car is now under Honda recall and they can’t do anything about it yet. The parts not ready to be ordered so they won’t even take my car and hold it and give me a loaner. It’s a safety recall so now they’re literally just going to let me drive around in what is essentially now a death machine because they refuse to give me a rental before the part is ready. That’s ridiculous. Someone explain to me how that makes sense.

Okay, rant over. It’s been a hard morning so far… I’m honestly trying not to cry at my desk right now and I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the rest of this week. I’m so emotionally and spiritually exhausted and it stinks and I don’t know what to do about it. If you pray to a god, please send up some prayers or hopes or good juju or whatever it is for me.

Also, for me, think about someone else before yourself today. It doesn’t have to be some major out-of-the-way thing, but if it’s something simple like holding the elevator, just do it. It’s not that big of a deal to your life and karma will smile down on you for it.

…I think my planets are out of sync.

Leave a Reply

