DC Week 6 and Weekend 7

IMG_1710
“People throw rocks at things that shine.

If we’re being honest… I haven’t been taking very good care of myself lately. I have been spending time with things/people that make me feel worse instead of better and haven’t been prioritizing myself. I think you got a glimpse of that in my last update, but it just hasn’t been good emotionally.

I told my mom, it feels like I’m constantly pouring into everyone else and that’s just draining my own soul. So, this weekend I took a weekend off. I spent Saturday at a Panera working on homework and reading – one of my favorite things to do. Then Sunday I went to a couple museums and decided after that I just wanted to go home, watch some TV and just hang out for a while. While it didn’t cure all the internal issues, it did help a little bit.

So, now that that’s out of the way, as far as the week was concerned it wasn’t too bad. It was pretty sad a couple of days in there, and hopefully you read my post about that. You can read it here if you didn’t get a chance. We also got to take a picture with the Congressman on the Capitol steps, so that made me happy! I love pictures and I love being able to have pictures from different experiences in my life.

IMG_1696
It’s a fortress of Orbital ATK.

On Friday I also had an interview! It was with a company that I really like, and I’m hoping to make it to the next steps. On Saturday I took my car to have the headlight repaired, went by one of my favorite stores to spend my coupons on the things I needed: neutral-colored shorts and a bathing suit, and then, like I said, spent the rest of my day hanging out and doing homework at Panera. I’m pretty proud of myself for only buying the stuff I felt like I needed, because I tend to be bad with money and I’m trying to get better. I saved $120 and only spent $50, though, so that’s pretty cool if I do say so myself. I’m hoping to do a wardrobe post at some point, so be looking for that soon! Oh! And I got to drive by my dad’s office in Dulles, so that was cool to be able to put a place with the stories he tells me. It’s like a fortress.

I also got to hang out with a friend Saturday night. This boy makes me feel pretty comfortable being me, so it was good to get out of my head for a little while and hang out with a friend. We went to a park by his house and just sat under a tree and talked, and then drove around his neighborhood and he showed me all of his favorite spots. He also let me cry for a little while, which is honestly something I needed. It’s hard for me to be in a new place without a support system. Also, my mom is out of the country so I can’t just call her and cry. So, being able to be around someone that I’m comfortable with and just take a second and be sad for everything going on in the world was honestly very freeing.

IMG_1705
Tomahawk missile!

Then on Sunday I woke up earlyish and went to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum and the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian. It was cool to go to the air and space museum, because that’s one of my dad’s favorites. He loves being able to see all the planes, so I liked feeling close to him. They also had a missile hanging from the ceiling that (I’m pretty sure) he worked on, so it was cool to see that too. Then, the American Indian Museum is one of my favorite that I’ve gone to thus far. It was laid out in a way that was pleasing to the eye and I honestly think it did a good job of honoring indigenous people around the world. Also, according to some of the videos, some American Indians were actually consulted when the museum was being made, so it was just really cool.IMG_1708

They not only tell about Native American cultural traditions, but also touch on things they do/use for life and tell about the relocation by the settlers, so while it’s sad, it was interesting to be able to learn more about that, because it’s not something that’s very broadly covered in American History classes.

Then I went home, hung out and napped and watched Gossip Girl the rest of the day. I need to give myself more chill time in the coming weeks.

IMG_1707
Super cool trash disposal station in the ledge. I thought it was awesome.

So I have three more weeks here, this week with Miranda coming at the end of the week, next week with my interview and my adventure to Pittsburgh and then the last week and my mom will be here Thursday. Woo!

For now I’m just working hard and trying to apply for jobs so I’ll have somewhere to go upon graduation.

 

Leave a Reply

