It’s time to fight back

 

I am tired of being afraid for myself.

I am tired of being afraid for my friends.

x! presents
Statistics courtesy of the Huffington Post.

 

Every woman you know has a 1 in 5 chance of being a victim of rape. That means (in a statistical world) out of the 60 women in my organization, 12 of themΒ will be raped in their lifetime.

I’m sure you all have at least five friends. Now imagine that it’s one of them… Put a face to a story.

Yes, the woman who speak out for rape are amazing and are phenomenal women with more strength than I think I could ever imagine, but put a face with a number. Put your face with that number. Put your mother or sister or daughter’s face with that number. It changes things. Doesn’t it?

Here’s something else: college students think 50 percent of rapes are false claims.

Now imagine someone telling your best friend that she’s lying. Imagine someone telling your best friend she asked for it or she shouldn’t have had that drink. Imagine someone telling her she just didn’t say no enough.

Are you starting to get the picture? Are you starting to get the picture that this system is messed up?

9 out of every 10 rape victims are women. I know it happens to men too, I’m not saying it doesn’t, but this is a problem. This is not okay.

683,000 adult women in the United States are forcibly raped each year. That’s 59,916 per month; 1,871 per day; 78 per hour; and 1.3 per minute.

In the time it takes for an average person to complete a workout, almost 100 women will have been raped. In the time it takes to pop a bag of microwave popcorn, four women will be raped, and that is just counting “forcible” rapes. Not the sweeping definition of sexual assault.

I honestly don’t have a solution and I’m trying to cast blame on anyone. I just wish that we could change the culture. I wish a night out with friends does not have to come with the possibility that someone (a male or a female) will engage in illicit activities they may not have consented to while sober. I wish someone (a male or a female) doesn’t have to worry about waking up the next morning being accused of sexual assault because two parties made a decision they weren’t in a state to make or signals were confused or misinterpreted.

I wish, I desperatelyΒ wish, that I, as a 21-year-old female didn’t have to live with the fact that if I were sexually assaulted right now I am almost 99 percent sure I would not get justice for it.Β 

I don’t know what to do about it, I don’t know what to say, but I know this system needs to change. I am not content waking up in the morning seeing yet another one of my brothers or sisters having the most intimate details of their life thrust into the headlines. I am not content knowing that if I bring a child into this world there is a possibility that someone could take from him or her something so personal so quickly. I am not content knowing that I have to live in fear walking home late at night or living by myself.

I am not content with having to live with the possibility of rape and I hope you’re not either.

So, leave your comments below and let’s start a conversation. Share this post and start a conversation with your friends. Think about situations ahead of time and have a game plan in mind. Teach your future children about consent.

Let’s join together and end this because we are the generation that will change the world if we allow ourselves to see our true potential.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can’t take credit for any of these pictures. I found them on the Internet after google searching rape protests in America. If you want me to take something down, let me know. However, I think it is important to show all of these women and men who have stood up against rape. I think it’s important to show their stories and important to show people rape is a problem and there is a face for this issue.

Leave a Reply

