DC Week 8 and Weekend 9

Hey readers! How was YOUR week this week? I hope it went well.

The beginning of my week was fairly quiet. We’re still out of session, so I’m writing a few constituent letters here and there and answering phones and such. We had dinner with a couple representatives from the Texas Tech Law School. I’m not planning on going to law school, but they were great to talk to and they know one of my FAVORITE professors I’ve ever had in my life, which was cool. Also, it was a free meal and I’m learning quickly you do not say no to those. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1783I also got to go to the Speaker’s Balcony and go on the House floor this week. If you know me, you know I’ve wanted to go to the Speaker’s Balcony since I like first got here. It’s the stereotypical Congressional Intern picture but oh well, I wanted to go there too. So, needless to say it was exciting to finally get to go. The House floor was cool too! They take your phone away before you go in just like the galleries so I didn’t get to take a picture, but I was totally there. It’s a whole lot smaller in it than it looks on TV and from the galleries but it was still way cool.

IMG_1788One of the best parts of my week was GETTING TO SEE ONE OF MY BEST FRIENDS! My friend Miranda was in the D.C. area this week as a part of a camp she was a counselor for, so I got to go to her hotel one night and bring her Taco Bell. It was SO good to see my friend. I missed her quite a bit, and it was good to hear about her life and talk to her about mine. Finding people that know you well and love you despite all of your crazy traits is important for this lifetime and she’s one of them. So, hanging out with her really helped to recharge my battery, which we all know was running a wee bit low.

IMG_1797Then, on Friday I woke up at zero-dark-thirty to head to Pittsburgh for my interview. It was a great drive and I really enjoyed the interview.ย They also scheduled a personality assessment for later in the weekend, so hopefully that’s a good sign.

After my interview I had planned to look at apartments and I honestly just got super overwhelmed. Not knowing a potential salary is hard because I don’t know what I can afford to look at. Also, the cheaper apartments I found had HORRIBLE reviews I hadn’t previously looked at, so that kind of stressed me out as well. So I walked around the downtown a little bit and had some lunch until it was time to go check into my AirBnb. I got there, called my mom and then took a nap because I was exhausted. I enjoyed a chill night in with popcorn, Twizzlers and a movie. I finally watched Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, which, despite my high hopes was exactly like I knew it was going to be and was not very good journalism-wise. It’s fine.

IMG_1806
Read the descriptions. They’re cool.

Saturday morning I woke up late (woo) and went to the Pittsburgh zoo! Before heading there, though, I found a cafe in Shadyside (a neighborhood in Pittsburgh). This is definitely my part of town and I’m so glad I found it. It’s pretty alternative and it’s a place where tattooed millennials would feel more at home than a family of four, so it was honestly really good for me to find it and gave me hope that I might be able to find a place to fit after all. So, that’s great.

IMG_1833So the Pittsburgh zoo is the bomb.com. I was super excited about the polar bear but he wasn’t even out, which is honestly for the best because it was oppressively hot. It’s such a well laid out zoo, which made me happy. There’s one main path and all the exhibits are set up in such a way that you don’t have to worry you’re missing anything which, despite my love for the Houston zoo, is one of my only complaints. Their rhinos were also out and moving around instead of hanging out all lethargic so that made me SO happy.* I also got to meet an elephant (her name is Victoria) so that was definitely amazing.

After that I headed home for another chill evening. I had some homework and such that I needed to finish and I was hot and tired. I also got a little bit tan. Whoo!

IMG_1880On Sunday I headed back to Washington D.C. and I got to go to the Flight 93 Memorial on my way back. They really did a great job on the memorial. It’s very well-done and reflective in addition to giving you a lot of information about what happened leading up to the crash of the plane. If you don’t know about Flight 93 I’d advise you to check it out. Favorite is a bad word, but in addition to the people jumping out of the World Trade Center, this is one of my favorite stories to come out of the tragedy of 9/11.

IMG_1884
The flight path, final resting place of Flight 93 and the burial site of those who died on the plane.

I also took a personality assessment for the job I interviewed for on the way home. It was kind of a weird process (I’m not used to people studying my personality and me knowing about it when it happens, but it was interesting). Then I came home, ate some dinner and geared up for my last week in Washington D

*If you don’t know, rhinos are 100 percent my favorite animal and I was very disappointed that the D.C. zoo does not have rhinos.

Leave a Reply

