Blogging and the Online Community

The Blogging Community

The inspiration for this post is here. Check it out.

When I started out blogging I honestly didn’t think anyone outside my family or (maybe) my close friends would read it.* I thought it would be a way for my family to keep up with me while I’m out-and-about doing collegey/internshipey things and that would be it. I definitely never thought I would spend so much time every day reading other people’s blogs. I mean, WordPress is honestly kind of terrible and hard to search and why subscribe to a blog after reading one post? You don’t even know what they’re about.

Then, it began to evolve. I started getting views from the reader instead of just Facebook and Twitter. I got views from places other than the United States. Then I started searching my own tags to see what other people were writing about “twenty-something,” “millennial” and “post-grad” have been stored in my favorites and one of my favorite parts of the day is checking up with the people I follow or reading/following new blogs on my tags.

It’s a whole community up in here. In like the 60s, people used to talk on the bus or in the grocery store and get to know each other in their small towns. They would be excited for their wins and sad for their struggles. Even if you didn’t know someone, you could still count on a simple conversation while passing by. We don’t have that anymore, though. We’re all on our phones if we ride the bus or trying to get through Walmart with as little human contact as possible.** Our lives are moving quickly and we simply don’t have the time to talk to every random stranger.

Enter the blogging world.

In the blogging world I have time to sit down and read people’s stories. In the blogging world I have time to write my own and help others get to know me. In the blogging world I can search for the type of people I want to get to know and actually find them. In the blogging world I can take the time to comment on other people’s posts and read their comments on mind.

The blogging world is a new community and I love being a part of it. Now I have like 50 views per day,*** I have an outlet to vent or be excited or whatever it is, I have a space where I can be creative daily and I have a community to be a part of.

*One of my close friends actually hates reading so she doesn’t even read it. I try to include pictures hoping one day she will.
**I’m not ranting. I’m the same way and I hate talking to new people in public.
***That may not be a lot for you established bloggers, but I think it’s cool.

2 thoughts on “Blogging and the Online Community

  1. I love this perspective. It’s an interesting one because for me it’s the opposite. I don’t really have that much time to read other blog posts because I’m rarely on my phone..I love meeting random people! but I am trying hard to do more of scrolling through my WordPress reader so i can get fresh perspectives like this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! I love the time in the morning (or at night before I go to bed) where I get to open up all the posts that have been posted since I last read them and keep up with all the people I follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

