The Romance of Heartbreak

Untitled design.jpg

So, one of my favorite songs (despite this album being released more than a year ago) is New Romantics by Taylor Swift. Check out the lyrics, here. If you’re too lazy to click on that link, here are some parts I’m talking about in this blog post.

Baby, we’re the new romantics
Come on, come along with me
Heart break is the national anthem
We sing it proudly
We are too busy dancing
To get knocked off our feet
Baby, we’re the new romantics
The best people in life are free

Please take my hand and
Please take me dancing and
Please leave me stranded,
It’s so romantic

So, I absolutely love my generation and this is NOT some hateful post about how millennials are awful and blah blah blah. If you’ve read my blog you know I love my generation and I love being a part of it.

Like I discussed in an earlier post, millennials just aren’t dating like our parents did. We’re focusing on ourselves and our careers and we’re tired of dealing with heartbreak any time we put ourselves out there because we’re tired of playing some dumb game someone taught us to play.

However, in the midst of all that heartache we’re finding a way to keep going and we’re finding a way to not be stuck in the knowledge of what could have been. How are we doing that you ask? If you ask me, I think it’s because we’re romanticizing heartbreak.

I know in my life, working through the heartache and pretending like I don’t have those human emotions makes me feel strong and real an invincible. Not taking the time to cry over someone because they’re not worth it makes me feel empowered. I’d much rather seem cold and unfeeling while not crying over some dumb boy instead of be weak and spend my weekend curled up watching romantic comedies crying and eating ice cream.

In my opinion, heartache and heartbreak is an outdated concept that we as a generation are no longer willing to live with.

When a species evolves, the specimens that can live are the ones that live on and make future generations. The ones that are equipped with some specific feature, whether it be a taller build or the ability to digest gluten, those individuals are chosen to keep the species alive. I don’t think physical characteristics are the only thing that experience this phenomenon, though.

Taking time to be heartbroken and sad stinks. It’s no fun and it takes up valuable time that could be spent doing other things and we as a generation have learned that. We are evolving out of a lovesick society and honestly? I love that. We’re engaging in relationships, but instead, with people who deserve our time.

We’ve bought into the idea that “dancing through the heartache” is romantic and there’s no turning back.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

