My Relationship with Trashy TV

79HmjWcx.jpg

So, one of my newest favorite bloggers writes about Bachelor in Paradise a lot and how much she loves it (but is embarrassed to admit it). Well, I have a confession to make – I love trashy TV too. However, I think shows like The Bachelor, Bachelorette, Bachelor in Paradise, KUWTK, all of those dramatic reality shows get a bad rap.

When I watch TV I don’t often want to have to think. I think all day and I don’t want to watch yet another show just to have to think some more. I guess that sounds pretty lazy, huh? My dad, one of the smartest guys I know, doesn’t like to read in his free time. He says he spends all day reading at his job, why would he want to come home and do more? If it’s okay for my dad to say that I think it’s okay for me to come home and enjoy an episode of BIP here and there.

A lot of people like to cite the fact that the man or woman is dating multiple different members of the opposite sex and leading them on and it’s awful and blah, blah, blah. How many of you realize that the Bachelor involves one man and several women? I am sure that even if you don’t watch the show, you know what the premise is. Now, how many of you think that the men and women who go on the show don’t? How many of you think that they’re going on to reality TV to be the only girl for one man? Exactly. They know exactly what they’re getting themselves into and I am perfectly okay with someone else profiting off a decision someone else made with all the facts.

Additionally, the more I’ve watched the “Bachelor shows” the more I’ve gotten into just “getting to know” the people on the shows. The fact that they pick from a pool of people you’ve already watched get their heart broken on national television helps you feel like you know said person. You fall in love with them and then root for them to find love. I realize most of the couples don’t work out, but it’s nice to be able to root for someone else to find love. I think the idea of that is nice.

So, pick up your pitchforks and light your torches. I love reality TV, it gives me time to zone out after a long day, and if you have a problem with that you can get over it. Now stop making fun of other people for liking it too.

Rant over.

2 thoughts on “My Relationship with Trashy TV

Leave a Reply

