Weekly Coffee Share 10/4

live-in-themoment

I’m late and I’m so sorry I’m late. Sunday got away from me and then I fell asleep right when I got home from work tonight, so it’s wee in the morning hours of Tuesday because I woke back up and can’t fall back asleep. So, without further ado here’s my weekly coffee share!

If we were having coffee it would be at North Town because they’re letting me come and talk with patrons about the election. As a part of our election coverage we need to do “man on the street” interviews and talk with people about who they’re voting for and I’ve decided I want to do it at a restaurant/coffee shop in the area, but it’s been hard finding someone who will let me. So, North Town is letting me, so they’re my new favorite shop in the area.

If we were having coffee I would tell you I am BUSY. I love being busy because I feel like I’m really doing my job and making a difference, but it’s definitely interesting getting used to juggling a bunch of stories at a time and having all day every day to work on them. It’s pretty cool.

If we were having coffee I would tell you I had a weird thought today. Someone made a joke about winning a Pulitzer and I realized, for the first time in my life I could totally win one. I’m not saying I’m of that caliber (yet) and I’m not expecting one, but it’s cool to just know that I’m eligible. Idk. I feel like it changes things.

If we were having coffee I would tell you I get to drive practically to Africa on Wednesday for an interview and I’m so stoked. I’m basically driving to Oregon, but I love driving and I’m excited to have an opportunity to see more of the state, so it’s going to be great. I will try to take some pictures!

If we were having coffee I would tell you I have some pretty darn exciting things coming up! I’m going back to Lubbock for alumni weekend this month, I’m going to stay with my cousins and aunt in Seattle a different weekend this month, my parents are coming to visit me for Thanksgiving and I’m starting to think ahead toward Christmas (ish) time plans, and it is looking like I’m going to get to go home and see my whole family, and that’s super exciting for me.

If we were having coffee I would tell you I am the DIY queen (not really). One of my desires for this apartment is to have a specific color scheme. Now that’s hard when you’re basically still a poor college kid and you can’t just go out and buy all new things. However, I saw on Pinterest that someone used chrome gold spray paint (gold is one of my colors) to revamp some things she already had. Sooo, this weekend I spray painted my trashcan, a decorative word thing I have in my apartment, some baskets and pots for my cactus and I LOVE all of it! It’s amazing how much the little things can change your whole outlook.

If we were having coffee I would tell you I officially own my first piece of furniture of my very own. For some reason I love old TV carts: wood with a place for the VCR and then a cabinet on the bottom for tapes. I love using them as different things, though. So I found one at Value Village this weekend for $13 and now I’m using it as my bedside table! I’m going to paint it when I have money for more decorating again, but for now I’m just so excited to be building my furniture and to have something I bought with my own money to call my very own.

That’s it for me for now!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

