Settling into adulthood

It was very easy for me to be upset with myself the first couple of weeks with a new job and an apartment. “I’m an adult with a job and a car, why am I not Thirteen Going on Thirty fabulous yet?”

It’s been two-and-a-half months and I don’t have much furniture still, my apartment is NOT exactly how I want it to be decorated, I don’t wake up refreshed and ready for each day; the list could go on-and-on.

However, I think learning how to do all these things a little at a time is what’s beautiful about being an adult. It took me 21 years to learn how to not be an adult (although I never even had that mastered) and it’s going to take me the whole rest of my life to learn how to “adult.” I think that’s awesome.

One “adultey” realization I had the other day while reading KJ’s Blog (she’s awesome, go follow her) is that I can now spend my money on vacations if I want to. That doesn’t just mean flying to see friends or flying home to see my family, it means flying to see the world.

I read an important quote the other day. I don’t remember exactly what it said, but it was something along the lines of: if traveling is important to you, you’ll figure out a way to make it happen.

So, I’m going to begin to find a way to make it happen. I can’t take any vacation for the next six months and I definitely need to work on this budgeting thing and take over all my bills first, but I think it’s time that I can start dreaming about and saving for future places I’m going to go. Stay tuned for a post about the top ten places I want to go first…

Leave a Reply

