You go Gene Green

heres-to-twenty-something

So, I don’t know if y’all do this (or something like it) but I keep a sticky note on my laptop and add topics I want to blog about when I’m thinking about it. That way when I sit down to write scheduled posts, I can look back at all of the things I wanted to write about.

This summer I interned with Congressman Gene Green. In my mind he’s a super mild-mannered dude and one of the greatest people you’ll ever meet. One of theΒ things that stuck with me most from my conversations with him was when we were talking about advice he got when he was a new congressman. Apparently a senior member told him that if the feeling when you walk up the Capitol steps ever wears off you shouldn’t be in Congress any more and he keeps that in mind ever time he walks into the House. I think that’s pretty darn phenomenal.

That’s just the kind of person he is, though.

So, he is involved in a lot of really great projects and cares about a lot of amazing things and I really have only good things to say about him, but I wanted to blog about this SUPER good thing I have to say about him.

GENE EFFING GREEN IS ONCE AGAIN TRYING TO ABOLISH THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE.

http://www.houstonpublicmedia.org/articles/news/2016/12/06/179924/congressional-democrats-call-for-amendment-to-abolish-electoral-college/

He doesn’t think the measure will get very far and, honestly, it probably won’t, but I just feel so proud that I worked for a man who is taking a stand.

I feel so very helpless in the wake of this election. I want to help people, I want to change lives, I want to be a safe place, but I feel so very cut off from everything, like my voice doesn’t matter and there’s nothing I can do. So, I’m just so very proud to be linked to someone who is doing something so very phenomenal.

So, call your Congressmen and ask them to support this measure. Not only does it come from a member of Congress that I think has the best interest of his people and the whole United States in mind, but also it’s time that we get to elect our own leaders.

Leave a Reply

