Romanticizing heartbreak

02d6e457a59c8a0d65f40431c0ad55cb

Once again, I have watched one of my favorite female characters in a TV show give up “safe” love for “devastating, painful, challenging love.” And if we’re being honest? I’m tired of it.

I wasted years of my life thinking the best loves are ones that are crazy and unexplainable and heartbreaking only to learn that it works fine and dandy in a TV show but when you actually put it into practice in your life, when you’re the one laying in bed without moving for days it’s not so cute anymore.

I hate knowing that one day my niece is going to watch something that tells her that the best loves, the most fulfilling loves are the hard ones. I hate knowing that it’s possible she might believe that and live her life like that.

I wasted YEARS of my life with that thought. It sucks.

I am writing this for you or anyone you know that believes that heartbreaking love is the best and only option. It’s not. The best loves are the ones that lift you up, that make you a better person every day. The best loves are the ones that make you smile and laugh with a light heart, not smile and laugh because you get to sneak behind closed doors and see each other. The best loves are the ones where you can see yourself sitting together years and years down the line old and wrinkly and still looking at the other person like you did when you were both 20 and in love. The best loves don’t hurt.

Love isn’t supposed to hurt.

One thought on “Romanticizing heartbreak

  1. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but
    I had to ask!

    Like

Leave a Reply

