101 in 1001

hello.

I’m so excited to do this. I’ve seen so many 101 in 1001 posts since I’ve started blogging and I’ve always wanted to do one, it just has never seemed like the right time. What better time to start one than heading into one of the biggest changes in my life? So, without further ado…

The mission: Complete each of the 101 tasks in a period of 1001 days.

What kind of tasks?: Tasks need to be specific with a clearly defined result. The tasks mush also be realistic and stretches me to do something I wouldn’t do in my day-to-day life already.

Isn’t 1001 days a long time?: The key behind 1001 days is beating procrastination and instead setting a realistic goal. 1001 days is about 2.75 years, which works better than a year because it allows several seasons to complete the tasks, which makes it easier to plan and complete tasks.

If you want to know more about the challenge, check out some information here. Also, if you want to check out the first person to inspire me, check her out here.

I will be working on this list for quite a while, checking off tasks that I’ve completed like this and linking to posts about some of my experiences like this. (This link doesn’t actually do anything, don’t click on it.)

Start Date: Aug. 15, 2016
End Date: May 13, 2019

Without further ado, here’s the list… (20/101 completed)

  • Finish this list
  • Inspire someone to start a list of their own (Let me know/comment below if I inspire you. I’d love to check out your list and link to it here!): From Zero to Hero

Be a Healthier Me (18/101)

  • Attend a barre class
  • Attend a dance class
  • Attend a spinning class
  • Attend a yoga class
  • Complete two fitness challenges
  • Drink the proper amount of water every day for a week
  • Eat clean for a week
  • Fast for a day
  • Go a month without fast food
  • Go a week drinking only water
  • Go a week without soda
  • Go on 30 new and different hikes (2/30)
  • Lose 100 pounds
  • Run/walk (participate) in a 5K
  • Sign up for a gym in my new city
  • Take my vitamins/other meds every day for a month
  • Try out CrossFit
  • Work out three times a week each week for a whole month

Bettering myself (11/101)

  • Accomplish three things on my bucket list
  • Find a church I like in my new town
  • Finish scrapbooking for senior year of college
  • Get a job (career)
  • Go on a mission trip
  • Learn how to contour
  • Register to vote in my new city of residence
  • Spend a day without technology
  • Stop biting my nails for at least 30 days (they say 20 days forms a habit so we’re going to go above that)
  • Take a cooking class
  • Write a letter for myself to open at 30

Blogging (12/101)

  • Blog twice a week each week for a whole month
  • Create a custom blog logo
  • Create a new section for my blog
  • Do a blog swap for a day with another blogger (let me know if you’re interested)
  • Increase my blog following to 100
  • Learn how to use premium to the best of my ability
  • Make my Insta more obvious on my blog
  • Take a photo of myself every week for a year
  • Take a picture for each letter of the alphabet
  • Take an outfit of the day picture every day for a month
  • Upgrade to WordPress Premium
  • Write 101 comments on other people’s blogs

Buying Things (8/101)

  • Begin to fund another child through Compassion International
  • Buy a car!
  • Buy an address book
  • Buy a nice planner for once. Not one of the $9 Target ones
  • Buy nothing but secondhand clothes for six months
  • Get a massage
  • Get my own personal stationary
  • Get my second tattoo

New chapter, New experiences (11/101)

  • Cover the chair Mark gave me
  • DIY a headboard
  • Fall in love
  • Get a pet
  • Get my own apartment
  • Grow an herb plant for my kitchen
  • Make a new friend in my new city
  • Make a workspace I actually enjoy working at
  • Move to a new city
  • Own my first piece of furniture of my very own
  • Stay in a hotel and order room service

Food (6/101)

For the Mind (8/101)

  • Finish reading every unread book in my possession before buying new ones
  • Graduate
  • Read all of the Harry Potter books
  • Read 40 new books (8/40) “Not That Kind of Girl” – Lena Dunham, “The Girl on the Train” – Paula Hawkins, “I am Malala” – Malala Yousafzi, “My Life Next Door” – Huntley Fitzpatrick, “Why Not Me” – Mindy Kaling, “We Were Liars” -E. Lockhart, “Bossypants” -Tina Fey, “Columbine” – Dave Cullen, “The Defining Decade”
  • Sign up for Arabic classes outside a university setting
  • Start to explore options to advance my degree
  • Watch all of the Harry Potter movies
  • Watch ten new documentaries (1/10) 13th

Giving of Myself (3/101)

  • Become a “Big Sister” with Big Brothers, Big Sisters
  • Give five “just because” gifts (4/5)
  • Leave a 100 percent tip

Saving Money (11/101)

  • Go a month only spending money on bills/groceries (save the rest)
  • Go grocery shopping with coupons
  • Invest in a pair of Tieks
  • Make and stick to a budget for at least a month (we’re hoping the budget thing will be a life-long thing, but here’s to setting smaller goals to start)
  • Make a $1000 emergency fund
  • Order a checkbook
  • Put $1-$5 in savings for every goal accomplished
  • Save my change from now until the end of this, then put in savings
  • Start a retirement fund
  • Start investing
  • Take a no spending challenge for a week

The “Gos” (11/101)

  • Attend a midnight movie premiere
  • Attend three concerts
  • Go apple picking
  • Go back to my university for a football game
  • Go on a cruise
  • Go on a trip/vacation with my BFF
  • Go on a whale watching tour
  • Go to a Farmer’s Market
  • Go to a pro basketball game (I’ve been to one before, but another one!)
  • Go to a pro football game
  • Renew my passport
4 thoughts on “101 in 1001

Leave a Reply

