Black bean burgers

 

IMG_2847.jpg
It’s pretty darn hard to take a good burger picture but trust me, they’re delish.

 

So, let me start this by saying I am NOT a vegetarian. However, I do notice the way my body reacts to red meat and it’s not always good. Additionally, I know you’re supposed to limit red meat because it’s not the best for you. SO, when I can find delicious recipes that don’t use red meat I try them because what do I have to lose?

This is one of these.

I’ve always been curious about black bean burgers so I finally bit the bullet and found a recipe!

My boss, who just happens to be vegan, said she believes a lot of the time vegan and vegetarian food tastes better because the fixer has to rely more on flavors than a big hunk of meat. That’s definitely true for these burgers. They’re extremely flavorful but stuck on a bun with a tomato they have the heft of a good burger and I’m from Texas, I definitely know a good burger when I see one.

So, without further ado here’s the recipe! Let me know if you try it. ๐Ÿ™‚

1 can of black beans

1 egg

ยฝ cup + 2 T. + 1/3 cup panko

ยผ cup choppedย onion

ยผ cup cilantroย paste

2 T. chopped green chilies

1 T. fresh lime juice

ยพ t. cumin

2 large garlic cloves

ยฝ tsp. salt

ยผ t. pepper

ย So, I basically just threw all the ingredients together and blended it all up! You can do a couple at a time if you don’t have a fantastic blender or food processor (like me). Once your done blending, the mixture should be so thick it sits on your spatula without having to fall off. I had to add some more panko, but just keep adding until you have a consistency you like.
Pour another 1/3 cup of panko on a large plate.

Coat the bottom and top of each patty with the extra panko and set them aside. At this point, you can go ahead and cook your burgers. The original owner of this recipe says she likes to put them in a fridge so they can harden, but I didn’t have any trouble just throwing them in a skillet.

I cooked mine in a pan for the first five-ish minutes and then put them on a cookie sheet at 350 for another 10 just to make sure they were a good texture.

Then throw them on a plate with your favorite condiments and sides (I did some fries) and you have a delicious and pretty darn healthy meal!

Let me know if you try it!

One thought on “Black bean burgers

Leave a Reply

