Margherita pizza (or bruschetta) grilled cheese

 

IMG_2862.JPG
Part of blogging for me means getting better at photography. Food pictures are one of those that I’m not very good at. My food tastes great but it’s not the prettiest on the outside. I’m working on it though! Let me know if you have any tips 😉 (I know, the first one is move the shadow)

 

I made something amazing. I didn’t think I was going to like to when I first put it all together and pulled it out of the pan but OMG IT WAS GOOD. The original recipe calls it a Margherita Pizza grilled cheese, but I think it’s more like a bruschetta grilled cheese. Either way, you make one yourself and be the judge because it’s too darn good not to try.

So, fun fact about me: I’m obsessed with finding the perfect grilled cheese. About six months ago I found out my George Foreman Grill makes the most bomb af grilled cheese I’ve ever had. It even has grill marks. Tell me that’s not impressive. In hindsight, I don’t know why I didn’t make THIS grilled cheese on my GFG, but oh well.

If you want to make this recipe at home, which I know you do, here’s the recipe!

***The original recipe has prep time and cook time but I almost always take longer than those, so just so you know the original recipe says it will take about 30 minutes in total. How long did it take you?
***Also, feel free to add in your own ingredients. That’s what makes pizza fun!
Serves: 4 sandwiches
INGREDIENTS
    • 1 teaspoon olive oil
    • 1 large garlic clove, minced (That’s what the recipe calls for. My mom always uses the minced garlic in the little glass jar, so that’s what I used. However, because I like garlic I used the equivalent of three garlic cloves. So. You do you.)
    • 14.5 ounces tomato sauce (the original recipe wants you to use fire-roasted tomatoes but I’m not into that taste so I just used some old-fashioned tomato sauce and it was TOTALLY just as good.)
    • ¼ teaspoons salt
    • 1 tablespoon sugar
    • 16 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced
    • 1 cup basil leaves (here I kind of just eyeballed it. The store didn’t have fresh basil when I was there so I had to get basil paste. I would definitely recommend going easy on that if that’s what you get too. It has A LOT of basil.)
    • One loaf/baguette (whatever) of French Bread
    • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

Get Ingredients

Powered by Chicory
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a small sauce pan, heat olive oil and garlic. Saute for about 1 minute. Add tomatoes, salt and sugar. Simmer for 8-10 minutes.
  2. Heat a large cast-iron skillet or griddle to a medium heat. (Or your GFG. Also, I have learned in my years of grilled cheese making that it’s better to do it low and slow. That way you get that nice browned piece of bread but your cheese gets hot enough to melt too).
  3. Cut about an inch off of the loaf of bread and top with as much cheese as you want. I think you’re the judge on how much cheese you like and the original recipe said four ounces. I have no idea how much four ounces is. Top with 4-5 leaves of basil or some basil paste. (Remember. Go easy on it.)
  4. Drizzle with a little bit of olive oil. (I’m not really a fan of the taste of olive oil so I would skip that part, but you do you.) Season with salt and pepper. Place top of bread, down on cheese and basil. Brush tops with butter. Season with a bit of salt and pepper.
  5. Place sandwich butter side down in heated skillet (work in batched if needed), brush other side with butter. Cook until golden brown and crispy on each side and the cheese is melted. (If you are having a hard time getting the cheese to melt, pop into a 350 degree oven for a few minutes.)
  6. Take some of your sauce, pour it in a little bowl for dipping and throw your cheeser on a plate a voila! A perfect meal!

A note:
The original recipe wants you to put the sauce on the sandwich like a pizza. I think that makes it soggy, though, and it’s perfectly good on the side. Feel free to do either. I’m not your mama.

So there you have it! That’s my fabulous bruschetta grilled cheese! Let me know if you tried it and what toppings you put inside!

kgb

9 thoughts on “Margherita pizza (or bruschetta) grilled cheese

  1. An idea for better food pics: make sure crumbs are off the plate before you shoot. I have a cousin who has done food photography professionally and that’s one thing I’ve always noticed about her photos! 🙂 Also, this looks great and I think I’m going to have to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

