A look back on my 2016

Happy New Year! The end of 2016 left many in our nation reeling ready for a fresh start. While I’m not too happy about a recent major change and I may have tried to look into how the “Rip van Winkle” it and sleep for the next four years, I still had a pretty phenomenal 2016 with some major life changes. If you’re not into reading there are photos at the bottom for each one of these events 😉

So, here’s 2016 through my eyes…

-My family got two new cats
-I danced Kumbia for the first time
-I was cheated on for the very first time and despite the fact that I realized I wasn’t all that into the guy, it still wasn’t fun.
-I turned 21 with some phenomenal best friends and celebrated with my first legal drink at BJ’s!
-I brought a new (beautiful and perfect) little into my fambam
-I GOT TO PET A ZEBRA with the aforementioned little. Seriously one of the high points of my year.
-I served as civics officer in my sorority, which was phenomenal
-I fell in love with a club in Lubbock
-I got to go home with one of my best friends (with our other best friend) to celebrate her sister’s wedding and FINALLY meet her family. They’re fantastic.
-I spent the summer interning in Washington D.C. While there (I’m going to make this one post) I got to go on the floor of the House of Representatives, to the Speaker’s Balcony, into the Capitol at 4 a.m. to watch the Democratic Gun Control Sit-in and numerous other phenomenal things)
-I applied and interviewed for an insane number of jobs
-I got to visit Pittsburgh
-I pet an elephant and took a picture with a penguin like a foot away from me
-I saw Speaker of the House Paul Ryan and Congressman John Lewis in real life (among other awesome people)
-I officially decided which political party I subscribe to
-I finally got to see the wild ponies on Assateague Island
-I climbed a mountain in Shenandoah National Park
-I saw Pandas at the National Zoo
-I went a gay club for the first (and probably only) time. It was fun though. All the guys think you’re beautiful and aren’t trying to get some
-I was on the steps of the Supreme Court when they ruled in favor of a woman’s right to her own body
-I went to a restaurant owned by Giuliana Rancic
-I saw The Purge: Election Year WHILE in Washington, D.C.
-I celebrated Fourth of July in Washington, D.C.
-I went to the Flight 93 Museum/Memorial near Pittsburgh
-I got to meet Shailene Woodley
-I found the confidence to buy a two-piece swim suit and wear it (ooooh)
-I GRADUATED
-I flew to a job interview in Washington State (first time in the state), got it and drove 2,000 miles across the country by myself!
-I moved into my VERY FIRST apartment
-I started my VERY FIRST adult job
-I got to visit my school and attend a football game as an alum
-I voted for the very first time…and m

…and many more.

Sure there were some things that didn’t go my way, but all-in-all I’d say this was a pretty great year and, honestly? So is any year I’m still alive and kicking.

What was your favorite part of the year?

kgb

Leave a Reply

