Taking Stock…

heres-to-twenty-something

Something you may be starting to get is I’m a sucker for posts that help me look back at my life, take stock and learn from it. I found these questions while reading a post from a blogger I recently started following (whom I already adore) so I figured I would do it too! Check out her post here and mine here:

1. What were your top five moments of the year?

My first would definitely have to be graduation followed by getting my first adult job as a CLOSE second. Being able to check these two things off the “checklist of life” has been SO exciting for me and I’m so proud! Third is the 2,000 mile trip I took alone to my new job. This summer I quite literally drove across the United States from driving from Washington, D.C. to Houston and then from Houston to Washington State, so to be able to do part of that alone as a female was pretty phenomenal for me. Fourth is all of the moments I spent with two of my best friends in the whole world. They were so supportive of me freaking out about graduating and missing them all the time, so I definitely look back at moments with them and smile. Fifth is low-key cheating but all of the protest-ey things I got to do while in Washington, D.C. From being on the steps of the Supreme Court when women won a battle in the right to choose to sitting in the U.S. Capitol until 4 a.m. watching the democratic sit-in, I got to be a part of some history this year.

2. What are you really glad is over?

I’m honestly glad college is over. I loved college and I loved my classes and my sorority but there were some people I let into my life that I shouldn’t have. It’s important to only let people into your life that value you and make you feel good about yourself and I didn’t do a whole lot of that in college. I also spent time with men who didn’t value me as much as they maybe should have, so it’s good to be away and learn my worth.

3. How are you different today than you were 365 days ago?

I think I’m a lot more independent and self-assured. I live thousands of miles from my immediate family and best friends and there’s a mountain range separating me from my closest family, so that’s definitely hard but it’s forcing me to grow.

4. Is there anything you achieved that you forgot to celebrate?

I don’t think so! I celebrate on everything. πŸ™‚

5. What have you changed your perspective on this year?

I touched on this a little in #2 but I really think my self-worth is higher. I don’t want to entertain anyone who doesn’t think I’m the bees knees because I think it’s hard for us to be in any sort of relationship where the other person puts us down. The other day I was on the phone with one of my best friends and she told me I was being an asshole and I responded, “It’s so good to talk to someone who can tell me I’m being an asshole without calling me an asshole.” I’m not saying I only want to be friends with people who tell me I’m perfect and everything I do is perfect, they just need to be able to call me out but still love me.
6. Who are the people that really came through for you this year?

Two of my best friends, one of my littles and my mama. πŸ™‚

7. What is something you tolerated for a long time, but now will not?

Forcing myself to do things I don’t want to because they’re socially acceptable. I’m not a major drinker. Sometimes I will have some drinks and go out with friends but it’s generally the exception to the rule. I’m done doing stuff like this because I feel like that’s what I should be doing at this age.

8.What old beliefs did you let go of?

That I need to be cold to be successful and independent.

 

9. What was one thing you found really challenging, but can now see supported your growth?

Moving 2,000 miles alone! Duh.

10. If you could go back in time, what would you tell yourself this time last year?

It’s going to be hard. It’s going to suck, but you’re going to get through it.

2 thoughts on “Taking Stock…

Leave a Reply

