Six things I finally understand living in a cold place

giphy.gif

Growing up in Houston there were quite a few things I just didn’t understand because it’s only cold for like three days each winter. Now, living in a place where it has gotten above freezing like three days in the past month, I’m finally starting to get it. So, here’s my list of things I didn’t understand before living in a cold place.

  1. Warm beverages – I kind of always just thought there were festive, so once the red cups come out you just drink them because they’re Christmassy. Now I make my own warm bevs because it’s cold. All the way down into my being it’s cold.
  2. Soup/chili – Basically the same as above. I used to always ask my mom to make chili or potato soup in the summer because I liked them and she would always tell me they’re winter foods. Well, to me the winter felt basically the same as the summer so it was never a big difference. Now? It is.
  3. Warm clothes/accessories – So, living in Houston in about October you just kind of start wearing all your cute winter weather accessories. You wear scarves, boots etc. just because they’re adorable and it’s that time of the year. Sure you may still be sweating but it’s time.
  4. Space heaters – This one is embarrassing. I thought the only people who bought space heaters were poor and didn’t have heat in their house. Now I realize some people don’t have heat and use a space heater to help warm themselves, but other people use them too. Basically everyone at work has a space heater at their desk and I have one in my house. To turn my heater up to the point at which I would finally be warm just hanging out is insane. So, space heater it is.
  5. Dry skin – Oh I thought I had dry skin back in Houston and I don’t even know what I was talking about it seems. It’s COLD here. It’s cold and dry and my skin is so angry. It’s good for my face, but I slather on lotion like every two seconds and it’s still awful.
  6. “Bridge may freeze before road” signs – Now in Houston, these signs are basically laughable. Seriously? The bridge may freeze before the road? Well, nothing is freezing. So.

I’m sure I could go on forever, but those are just a couple for you. πŸ™‚ What are some things that are so specific to cold places that you think a southerner wouldn’t understand?

11 thoughts on “Six things I finally understand living in a cold place

      1. It does cost more to live in colder climates, for sure! You *have* to heat your house- there’s no saving money, and you need to have an actual parka. But I also think that everything looks so beautiful in the winter, and our huskies loooove it, so no matter what, I will vote for winter! πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

        Liked by 1 person

      1. We have a balm here called “O’Keefe’s Working Hands” that’s pretty much the only thing that saves my hands!

        I always moisturise my face every morning and take my make up off every night with Liz Earle’s hot cloth cleanse. I also moisturise my legs and elbows with coconut oil (for me, they get dry almost as much as my hands!). Got to keep on top of my lips too, and I always find Vaseline works best for me πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

