Lifechanging.

heres-to-twenty-something

I want to post this because I think there has to be someone else that needs to hear it.

The other day I was just going along, reading blogs and minding my own business when I came across a post by KJ McNamara. She was blogging about her five biggest regrets. You can read the original post here.

Here’s the part that spoke to me:

I regret never actually breaking up with my college sweetheart. I mean we broke up when I was traveling… but then every time I was home from grad school or whatever we would make promises of making it work again. I feel like I drug it out. Or like I made it more painful for him… and me. We honestly did not even have a real conversation about ‘us’ until I was engaged to Brendon. That was a mistake because I never officially made a decision… I wish I had made the decision… but I was too much of a scaredy cat who just wanted people to approve of me and I never wanted to hurt people’s feelings. You know how that goes. The relationship you never have the guts to end.

I promptly went home and broke up with my college sweetheart – the one I was so excited about getting back together with about a week prior.

He lives in Houston and I live in Washington State and he, who is bad at communication, promised me that we would talk at least once a week. That was a compromise on my part and one that he broke. How hard is a text, one simple text, once a week? It shouldn’t be.

So then I thought maybe I was just trying ton contact him at the wrong time, so I called him on my lunch break and he had blocked me. A boy who said he was my boyfriend and loved me and thinks I’m the most important thing in the world to him blocked my number. That was the last straw.

I sent him a message to break up with him (because I obviously couldn’t do it over the phone) and then blocked his number and him on all social media. I was pretty sure that was what was going to end up happening, but reading KJ’s blog post really gave me the confidence to do it.

I don’t want to keep dragging this out. I don’t want to have to hurt for it and I don’t want to set myself back in life when there are many things I can be doing without having to try to plan my life around a man who may or may not ever be ready to be with me full time.

So, I broke up with my college sweetheart. It makes me sad, but I honestly know it was the best choice for me.

What advice do you have based on regret?

kgb-1

Leave a Reply

