Six months post-grad

Add heading.jpg

Omg. I can’t believe I’m already at six months post graduation. It felt like I would never get to graduation and then that I would never be able to be a real, live functioning adult and look! I’m doing it!

I still need to take over my phone bill from my parents, but other than that I’m self-sufficient! At this point I’m trying to figure out how to make my bills smaller to be able to take on my phone bill, though. I feel like there’s gotta be a cheaper way to get Internet… But we will see. I hope to get that in the next month. I’ll let y’all know.

So, as I’m six months post grad, I’d like to give you six lessons I’ve learned since graduating!

  1. There are no rules: This is one my dad taught me that has been SO helpful. There’s not one specific way to do things. If you like to go to bed at 8 p.m.? Do it. You would rather be on your own than hang out with a million people? You go girl. Do things that make YOU happy instead of what you think the world wants to see. If you do what the world wants it’s very likely you’re robbing your own happiness.
  2. It’s okay to spend a little money: One week I was trying so hard to have a no spending week, but I had just had an awful day and my friend asked me to go out to dinner with her. At first I said no because I was spending no money. Then I finally changed my mind because I really needed that girl time. It was SUCH a blessing. I’m not telling you to go out and spend $1,000 like that, but don’t beat yourself up if you need to treat yourself. (With that said, I need to be treating myself a little less. Ha.)
  3. Value your mental health: This one is so hard for me. I want to be able to do it all and see it all but if I’m honest it’s not good for me. I need time during the day to relax and just be with myself and if I don’t I’m a little crazy and run ragged. Figure out what you need to do to keep yourself sane and don’t hesitate to do that.
  4. Alone time is good: This one kind of goes hand-in-hand with #3, but I think it’s important to take some time out for yourself. In college I was like ALWAYS around my friends. Honestly, I don’t think there’s ever been a season of life that I haven’t almost always been around other people, but I’m learning that’s not always good. Spending a little bit of alone time in the quiet to listen to yourself is great.
  5. Never settle: I’ve tried to settle for friends. I’ve tried to settle for boys. I almost settled for a job. It’s never a good thing. You are worth the moon and the stars, why settle for something you don’t want or you aren’t in love with?
  6. You can stay close to your friends even if you’re far away: My best friends live 2,000 miles from me but we’re just as close now as we’ve ever been. They are very different than I am in terms of communicating, but we’ve been making it work. You just have to have honest conversations about what each of you need from a long-distance friendship. Any long-distance relationship is hard, but it’s worth it.

What have you learned in these past six months?

kgb-1

Leave a Reply

