A low-key rant about parents & being an adult

So, a couple disclaimers before I write this.

  1. This IS going to be a rant about my parents, more specifically my mom. It doesn’t mean I don’t 100 percent adore her, just sometimes I get frustrated and I want to post this to help y’all and give some insight, not just because I’m annoyed. I also waited a couple days to post it because I didn’t want it to seem like I was ranting to rant. If you stay with me I promise there’s a point.
  2. This is about to be some MAJOR first-world problem stuff. I know I have a phenomenal life and I’m so much better off than many and for that I am thankful. But that doesn’t stop me from doing some low-key rants when I get frustrated about things that didn’t go my way.

So, fun fact, I got a new phone! I’ve had the same 5S for like two years now and that is a record for me and phones. I’ve also had a 5S period for like three years, so I definitely have not been that girl that’s always trying to get the new thing.

On top of that I’m awful with phone screens. I replaced the screen on that phone maybe three times before I finally got this new one Wednesday, so it had served me well.

If you didn’t know, I work as a journalist. One thing about the changing world of journalism is a lot of my job when I’m out of the office should be done on my phone. It’s taking pictures at events, video to edit when I get back, live streaming, taking notes, tweeting, whatever. That’s pretty darn hard to do when my phone screen wasn’t working, I only had 16 gigs (no I know. I didn’t realize how much space that really isn’t) and the camera (comparatively) sucks.

So, I decided that when I got a new phone plan I would just bite the bullet and do the ATT Next thing with it. There is no way I would be able to save up the $800 for a new phone in a timely manner and an upgrade was in my future.

Then Wednesday morning my phone screen went out. I was already planning on getting a new phone but when the touch part won’t touch anymore, then it’s time. (Yes, I checked the buttons on the inside of the phone that makes the touchy work and those were connected).

I went to my friendly neighborhood ATT store after my dad put me on as an authorized user (he is graciously allowing me to stay on my family’s phone plan and just pay him for my part) and I got a new phone.

But I didn’t pay cash.

I only paid sales tax when I picked it up. I will now be paying $29/month for 30 months to pay off my new phone. I think that’s a pretty good deal.

But my mom doesn’t.

Last night I tried to tell her how excited I was about covering my first meeting with my new phone and she was obviously NOT happy about it so I asked why.

Her response: “Well did you pay cash?”

Well, if you’ve been reading closely you’ll know I didn’t.

I am 22 years old. I have a job that pays way more than I was expecting but is nowhere near two adults toward the end of their career. I have bills and have to pay more for those bills because I am young. I recent(ish)ly moved to a new state so I’m dealing with all the things that come with a brand new apartment. Although, granted, those are winding down.

I don’t have $800 to spend in one pop to buy a new phone and if I tried to save that all up over a couple or several paychecks, the time that I could afford and am finally ready to bite the bullet would wane.

Well then she says just don’t get a new phone. (Or get a cheap one).

My whole life, both personal and professional is on this little device. I use it constantly to do my job (and communicate with friends) and I can’t just say jk I’m not going to have it anymore. That’s not the world we live in. A cell phone (and I would go as far as to say a smartphone) used to be a luxury but now those days are waning.

So, what is the moral of this story?

Parents sometimes have a hard time navigating how to be a parent after you’re an adult. I honestly think that’s one of the reasons other species leave their young so early, but that’s neither here nor there.

But I can imagine it would be hard to go from being the person who was expected to guide and teach a young life for some 18 years and then just have to accept that they think they know best and are going to make major decisions for their lives.

So, you know what I do? I just say okay mom. There’s a fine line between a respectful and disrespectful okay, so I would keep that in mind, But just saying okay allows whichever parent to be able to give their advice and then keep tensions low because you’re not coming back and being super combative. Genius, huh?

How do you continue to show respect to your parents even while out of the house?

kgb-1

2 thoughts on “A low-key rant about parents & being an adult

Leave a Reply

