I’m feeling 22!

So, this is a VERY late birthday post. I planned on writing one on the day of my birthday, but then things were crazy and have been pretty crazy ever since.

So. I TURNED 22!

I finally get to sing T. Swift’s song on repeat and actually feel like I’m a part of that club! I also sang that song at karaoke in Seattle for my birthday weekend so, you know, I’m fabulous. (Or something like that).

Oh, I guess I should probably tell you my birthday was Feb. 15!

So I just wanted to give you an update on my birthday celebrations because I had so much fun!

The beginning of my birthday week actually started with a different celebration. A coworker/friend of mine’s birthday was on Monday, so we all went out to dinner to celebrate his birthday. Then I had my self-love Valentine’s day. AND THEN MY BIRTHDAY!

I was supposed to have my birthday off, but ended up having to work a few hour because that was the only time someone could meet. It was all reporting in the field, which I really enjoy, so that wasn’t bad at all. I then got my nails done. It was low-key disappointing because the lady did a TERRIBLE job, but good to be pampered nonetheless.

I got to talk with my niece and nephew on FaceTime and then went to a birthday dinner withΒ some people from work, which was so fun!

Oh, and I got snow boots from my mama and dad πŸ™‚

Then Thursday was business as usual, except after work I headed out to Seattle. I spent the weekend with my family in Seattle and it was phenomenal.

Super thankful that these two got to come to (and basically plan) my birthday dinner.

They brought me a cake! Also, that drink right there is probably the best drink I’ve ever had in my life. It’s called a mango martini but it really just tasted like orange and mango juice. Dangerous.

Don’t you wish your snowboots were cute like mine?

I got an award of excellence before leaving on Thursday! (feat. my super messy desk)

I went to the Woodland Park Zoo on Friday. If you know me, you know I LOVE zoos, so it’s good to add another one to the list. It was a pretty good zoo. No rhinos or elephants but there were hippos and penguins so that’s kind of a trade. I’ve actually never seen hippos before and unfortunately I only got to see their butts, so I’m going to have to try again some other time.

One thing I appreciated: the exhibits were expansive and well-designed. While that makes it hard/annoying for the visitor (me) to see the animals inside, it’s nice to know they have something similar to their real habitat and a place they might enjoy. What do I know though? I’m just a human.

Oh! They also had Western Lowland Gorillas! Gorillas are actually really hard to take care of in zoos, which is why I always love seeing them. Their habitats are usually pretty nice to keep the animals healthy, so that was cool.

I’m still pro-Houston zoo though. Fav zoo. Best zoo. Look it up.

After going to the zoo I went to this cute pub! I LOVE trying cute new restaurants when I go somewhere new and this was just the ticket. It seemed like a place all the stay-at-home moms go. There was a little place for the kids to play and SO many moms drinking wine. It was adorable and made me super happy just to be a part of it.

I had a Philly sandwich and fries. Everything was SO good!

Walking back to my car I saw this place that sold slices of pie, so obviously I had to stop and get one. It wasn’t the BEST pie I’ve ever had, but it was a cool concept.

I think it has been sunny a larger percentage of the time I’ve been in Seattle than it has been in Yakima.

A little bit of home at a Washington sports bar. πŸ™‚

My family went with me to a Huskies basketball game and it was SO fun! πŸ™‚

We floated on Sunday and it was glorious. I’m going to write a longer post later, but just know… it was so good. πŸ™‚

Yummy home made red velvet cake πŸ™‚

I had SUCH a great birthday weekend/week. I was honestly a little nervous because I’m so far from home and my Lubbock friends. I didn’t want to feel sad/lonely/forgotten but everyone around me made sure I had a fabulous time, so I’m definitely thankful for that.

Look out for a cliche “things I’ve learned in 22 years” post!

kgb-1

2 thoughts on “I’m feeling 22!

Leave a Reply

