My three words

 

My cousin introduced me to this thing where she thinks of three words that she wants to be and then everything she does follows those three words.

So if her three words were bougie, smart and detached (which they TOTALLY aren’t) everything from the way she treats people to what she wears should be able to fall under those three words.

I thought that was awesome.

I’m not going to say I forget who I am a lot, but sometimes in the craziness of the world I lose sight of some of the things I stand for. Does that happen to you too? It can be easy to be cold when someone hurts you when in all actuality I want to be loving. It can be easy to feel down on myself when someone tells me I’m doing something wrong but in all actuality I want to be resilient.

Choosing three words helps me focus in on the me I want to be.

So, what are my three words? You probably guessed it from the photo, but my three words are modern, resilient and strong (emotionally strong that is).

So here’s why…

Modern

As a resident of Yakima, I often feel very “country mouse” when I talk to people who live in the city or go visit my cousins in Seattle. That frustrates me to no end because I’m not. I feel that I am (and want to be) everything that comes with living in a city. So, to me that’s assertive. It’s self-assured. It’s worldly. It’s accepting of all different types of people. It’s outspoken. It’s confident. I could go on and on. So I want to be all of those things but picking “city girl” as one of my words felt stupid, so I picked modern. I know what that means.

Resilient

Change is hard. Change is hard and it feels like the majority of what I do these days is deal with change. But I never want to be the girl that can’t roll with the punches. A huge part of journalism is that things are always changing, be it the story you’re working on every day or the circumstances around whatever is happening. Not only that, but I’m at a time in my life where I should be okay to change. I’m 22 years old. I’m not connected to anyone or really anything. I could pick up and move at any moment and that needs to be a beautiful, not scary thing. So. I aim to be resilient.

Strong

Bleh. This one is hard. This one is hard because it’s the one of these words that I’m not only reminding myself of but I’m encouraging myself to be. I am super independent in most aspects of life. However, when I find someone to lean on, be it a friend, boyfriend, whatever, it’s like all of that goes out the window. Some reliance is good. But I think for a relationship, whatever it is, to work out, both people need to be able to stand on their own two feet, too.

Oh, and I’m not just working on this one to be in a relationship. It’s just something I need to work on if I’ll ever be in healthy one.

What would your three words be?

kgb-1

Leave a Reply

