I’m not Catholic, but for Lent, I’m giving up men

I'm not Catholic, but for Lent I'm giving up men1.jpg

So, this may sound blasphemous, but I think lent is becoming trendy. The number of people that give something up for lent without being Catholic or doing it for the religious purpose, I feel like it’s accepted as like a New Year’s Resolution of a sort. Idk.

In that fashion, I am giving up men for 40 days. Someone said it jokingly (for herself) and I laughed and said whatever and moved on. Then I went home and thought about it.

I’m not a floozy by any means, but I’m low-key boy crazy after finally feeling like I have closure with that boy I was heartbroken over for years.

That’s not good for me, though. I spent last Friday night on a date with a boy that I knew wasn’t right for me because I liked the attention. In reality, it screwed up my weekend plans and I didn’t have fun. At all. And the worst part is I knew beforehand I wasn’t going to have fun!

I feel like trying to find a man takes up a lot of my life. But all of that time could be used to better me, to fall even deeper in love with me!

Growing up I saw this quote everywhere, “I want to be so in love with the Lord that a man has to follow him to find me.”

I like it, but I always felt like it was a little ridiculous. I don’t want a man to learn about God just to get with me. I think that sounds awful! Anyone else?

But, if we change that and say, “I want to be so in love with myself that a man has to get to know me to get me.”

Now that, I like. I want to be doing so well jamming on what makes me happy and marching to the beat of my drum, that a man really has to get to know who I am instead of me just falling at his feet because I think he likes me.

So, for 4o days I’m given up men. And honestly? I couldn’t be more excited.

Are you giving up anything for lent? How do you not spend so much time focusing on boys?

kgb-1

2 thoughts on “I’m not Catholic, but for Lent, I’m giving up men

  1. I love it! And I thought that first quote was a bit bizarre too, but now I’m so passionate about God I totally understand the meaning behind the original phrase. I want somebody as equally passionate about God as I am so that we begin & live our relationship with a solid foundation and value system. Love this blog post, and know that you are certainly worth at least allowing the guy to know you fully before knowing you long term!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

